From the record
One of 204 National Register listings published here for Pima County · listed in 2009 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2009.
One of 204 National Register listings published here for Pima County · listed in 2009 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 98 fires within 5 miles of Steam Pump Ranch between 1992 and 2020, burning about 126,691 acres in total. 20 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 70 |
| Natural | 20 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2011 | Natural | under an acre | Coronado National Forest | ALAMO |
| 5 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 29 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Golder Ranch Fire District | 1829385 |
| 30 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Golder Ranch Fire District | 1826035 |
| 3 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Golder Ranch Fire District | NOT NAMED |
| 29 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Northwest Fire Rescue District | NOT NAMED |
| 23 August 2015 | Natural | 3.0 acres | Coronado National Forest | BIGHORN MOUNTAIN |
| 22 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Golder Ranch Fire District | 1825034 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 14 workings within 5 miles of Steam Pump Ranch: 12 occurrences, 1 unknown, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Copper, Copper, Gold, Silver, Uranium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dumar Claims | Uranium | Prospect | ||
| El Oro Group | Copper, Gold, Silver | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed Prospect Ml10 | Copper | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml108 | Copper | Occurrence | Unknown | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml11 | Copper | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml15 | Copper | Occurrence | Copper | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml16 | Copper | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml17 | Copper | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Unnamed Prospect Ml18 | Copper | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Prospect Ml19 | Copper | Occurrence | Vein |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Oro Valley, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1996: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Oro Valley | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Catalina Foothills Estates Apartments | 5.9 miles | 2015 | |
| Gordon Residence | 6.1 miles | 2024 | |
| Catalina Townhouses Historic District | 6.1 miles | 2020 | |
![]() | DeGrazia Gallery in the Sun Historic District | 6.3 miles | 2006 |
| Casa Juan Paisano | 6.6 miles | 2013 | |
![]() | Jacobson House | 6.8 miles | 2022 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 09000668 in Record Group 79. |
| Pima County | All 204 listed properties in this county. |