From the record
One of 127 National Register listings published here for Yavapai County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.
One of 127 National Register listings published here for Yavapai County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 23 fires within 5 miles of Kirkland Store between 1993 and 2020, burning about 142 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 13 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 September 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 5 August 1993 | Natural | 60 acres | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 31 August 1995 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 9 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | SQUAW PEAK |
| 5 July 1995 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | not named |
| 23 July 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - Northwest District | KIRKLAND |
| 2 July 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 41 acres | Phoenix District Office | WINDMILL |
| 9 June 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management - State Office | RR 84 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of Kirkland Store: 6 prospects, 2 occurrences, 2 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Pumice, Silver, Gold, Gold, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Kirkland | Gold, Silver, Lead, Vanadium | Past Producer | ||
| Comanchero Claims | Lead, Silver, Gold | Prospect | ||
| Jack of Diamonds | Gold, Copper | Prospect | ||
| Little Mint and Little Spring | Gold, Silver | Prospect | ||
| Magic Mountain | Volcanic Materials, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Dimension | Past Producer | Tuff | |
| Side Bet Claims | Gold, Silica | Prospect | ||
| Side Bet No. 1 and 2 | Gold, Silica | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Victory Group | Silver, Gold | Prospect | ||
| Kirkland | Pumice | Occurrence | ||
| Kirkland Quarry | Pumice | Unknown |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Kirkland, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2022: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | - | A trained spotter measured a peak wind gust of 60 MPH near Kirkland. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 98001215 in Record Group 79. |
| Yavapai County | All 127 listed properties in this county. |