Dayton, California
28 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1891 and the latest in 1980. It stands in the Durham census division. It lies in ZIP code area 95928. It stands on Dubock Slough. The Survey maps it on the Chico quadrangle. It stands 141 feet above sea level.
Then and now
1891 to 1980The same ground, surveyed 89 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 28 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1891 USGS Chico quadrangle1:125000
- 1893 USGS Chico quadrangle1:125000
- 1895 USGS Chico quadrangle1:125000, 8 printings
- 1912 USGS Durham quadrangle1:31680
- 1948 USGS Chico quadrangle1:24000, 5 printings
- 1949 USGS Chico quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1950 USGS Chico quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Chico quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1960 USGS Chico quadrangle1:250000
- 1980 USGS Chico quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
197 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 197 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,039 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 72 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 54 |
| Debris and open burning | 41 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 13 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Natural | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Butte Unit | SKYWAY |
| 9 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Butte Unit | HEGAN |
| 8 September 2019 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Butte Unit | TROXEL RD DRHM |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Butte Unit | MIDWAY1 |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Butte Unit | MIDWAY2 |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Butte Unit | MIDWAY3 |
| 7 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Butte Unit | BROWN ST DRHM |
| 6 September 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Butte Unit | HICKS |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
4 since 2017Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 4 storm reports between 2017 and 2026: 4 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2026 | Flood | Dayton | - | California Highway Patrol reported roadway flooding at River Road and Ord Ferry Road from heavy rain. |
| January 2023 | Flood | Dayton | - | Glenn County OES and broadcast media reported flooding on Ord Ferry Road due to flooding of the Sacramento River. Glenn County preemptively closed the road January 13 due to Sacramento River at Ord Ferry forecast point forecast to rise above flood stage. Flood stage was exceeded at 0600 this morning. |
| February 2019 | Flood | Dayton | - | Swift water team and Butte County Search and Rescue responded to Ord Ferry Road after the driver of a semi-trailer truck attempted to cross a flooded road. |
| January 2017 | Flood | Dayton | - | River Road between Chico River Road and Ord Ferry Road was closed due to flooding. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Roble | 3.7 miles | 28 | |
| Eskini (historical) | 3.8 miles | 28 | |
| Durham | 3.8 miles | 28 | |
| Barber | 5.0 miles | 28 | |
| Rancho Llano Seco | 5.1 miles | 26 | |
| Stirling Junction | 5.5 miles | 28 | |
| Chapmantown | 5.8 miles | 28 | |
| Chico | 5.8 miles | 28 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q5243470 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1655954. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.









