From the record
One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 2001 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1919.
One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 2001 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 70 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 83 fires within 5 miles of Lincoln School between 1992 and 2019, burning about 931 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 26 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 7 |
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 29 September 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | CHIMNEY |
| 25 September 1999 | Natural | 6.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | CHIMNEY |
| 23 September 1999 | Natural | under an acre | Central California District | ROCK |
| 2 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | CHIMNEY |
| 2 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 7.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | CANYON |
| 19 September 1995 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | CHIMNEY ROCK |
| 15 September 1994 | Equipment and vehicle use | 40 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | LAKE |
| 14 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Lincoln School: 2 occurrences, 2 prospects, 2 past producers, 2 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Mercury, Limestone, General, Pumice. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Almaden Deposit | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Quarry | Pumice | Past Producer | ||
| Buena Vista | Mercury | Producer | ||
| Buena Vista | Mercury | Plant | Underground | |
| Capitola Mine | Mercury | Prospect | ||
| Klau Mine | Mercury | Past Producer | 1868, 1874 | |
| Mahoney | Mercury | Producer | 1874 | |
| William Tell | Mercury | Occurrence | 1900 | |
| William Tell Mine | Mercury | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Paso Robles, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2002 and 2024: 2 flash flood, 1 wildfire. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2002 | Wildfire | Paso Robles | $290,000 | A wildfire burned 715 acres of forest in San Luis Obispo County, about 12 miles east of Paso Robles. The fire cost about $290,000 to fight, but resulted in no deaths or injuries. |
| February 2024 | Flash Flood | Paso Robles | - | Swift water rescue teams rescued three people from the Salinas River. |
| February 2024 | Flash Flood | Paso Robles | - | Flash flooding resulted in the closure of a section of Buena Vista Drive, near Paso Robles. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 01001244 in Record Group 79. |
| San Luis Obispo County | All 32 listed properties in this county. |