From the record
One of 616 National Register listings published here for Los Angeles County · listed in 2021 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021. 16 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1896.
One of 616 National Register listings published here for Los Angeles County · listed in 2021 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 100 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 111 fires within 5 miles of Malaga Cove Plaza between 2005 and 2020, burning about 294 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 18 |
| Smoking | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 7 September 2011 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Los Angeles County Fire Department | not named |
| 6 September 2020 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1.0 acres | Los Angeles County Fire Department | not named |
| 6 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 29 September 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 22 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 20 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Los Angeles County Fire Department | not named |
| 17 September 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 17 workings within 5 miles of Malaga Cove Plaza: 13 past producers, 2 occurrences, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Diatomite, Silica, Titanium, Metal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burdick Minerals Corp. | Titanium, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Palos Verdes Stone Quarry | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Torrance Brick Co.-Plant No 1 | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Clifton | Titanium, Metal | Producer | ||
| Clifton-Redondo Placer | Titanium, Metal | Producer | Ilmenite | |
| Caswell & Co. | Silica | Past Producer | ||
| Diatomaceous Earth Deposit | Diatomite | Occurrence | ||
| Diatomaceous Earth Quarry | Diatomite | Past Producer | ||
| Dicalite | Diatomite | Occurrence | ||
| Lawrence I. Liston Co.-Madrona Ave | Silica | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Palos Verdes Estates, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1999: 1 funnel cloud. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 1999 | Funnel Cloud | Palos Verdes Estates | - | A weather spotter reported a funnel cloud west of Palos Verdes. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Palos Verdes Public Library and Art Gallery | 0.1 miles | 1995 |
![]() | Palos Verdes Public Library and Art Gallery- Farnham Martin's Park (Boundary Increase) | 0.1 miles | 1996 |
| Mirlo Gate Lodge Tower | 2.0 miles | 2019 | |
![]() | Woman's Club of Redondo Beach | 2.5 miles | 1984 |
![]() | Redondo Beach Public Library | 2.6 miles | 1981 |
![]() | Diamond Apartments | 3.0 miles | 1992 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100007016 in Record Group 79. |
| Los Angeles County | All 616 listed properties in this county. |