From the record
One of 50 National Register listings published here for Marin County · listed in 2022 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022. 17 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.
One of 50 National Register listings published here for Marin County · listed in 2022 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 98 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 140 fires within 5 miles of Marin Art and Garden Center between 1995 and 2020, burning about 105 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 86 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 25 |
| Smoking | 9 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 8 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Debris and open burning | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Marin County Fire Department | not named |
| 29 September 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Marin County Fire Department | not named |
| 26 September 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 24 September 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Marin County Fire Department | not named |
| 23 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 21 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Marin County Fire Department | not named |
| 21 September 2008 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 20 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Marin County Fire Department | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 17 workings within 5 miles of Marin Art and Garden Center: 7 occurrences, 4 unknowns, 3 producers, 3 past producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copperopolis Mine | Asbestos | Producer | Chrysotile | |
| Mt. Tamalpais | Silver | Occurrence | ||
| Greenbrae | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Highway 20 Site | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Hotaling | Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Dimension | Unknown | ||
| Mount Tamalpais Cemetery Quarry | Stone, Dimension, Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Escalle Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Forbes Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Hotaling | Stone | Occurrence | ||
| Patent Brick Company | Clay | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ross, the town this property stands in, in 2 storm reports between 2018 and 2020: 1 flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2020 | Hail | Ross | - | Spotter reported rain, lightning, and hail. Hail size estimated. |
| November 2018 | Flood | Ross | - | Roadway flooding reported on off ramp of us 101N and central San Rafael. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | San Rafael Improvement Club | 1.2 miles | 1984 |
![]() | Bradford House | 1.3 miles | 1980 |
![]() | Robert Dollar House | 1.4 miles | 1991 |
| Robert Dollar Estate | 1.6 miles | 1972 | |
![]() | Boyd House | 1.6 miles | 1974 |
![]() | Larkspur Downtown Historic District | 2.2 miles | 1982 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100007228 in Record Group 79. |
| Marin County | All 50 listed properties in this county. |