From the record
One of 73 National Register listings published here for Sonoma County · listed in 1976 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1938.
One of 73 National Register listings published here for Sonoma County · listed in 1976 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 264 fires within 5 miles of Cloverdale Railroad Station between 1992 and 2020, burning about 2,359 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 15 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 145 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 54 |
| Debris and open burning | 25 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 15 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 4 |
| Firearms and explosives use | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.1 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | LILE LN CLOVERDALE |
| 9 September 2015 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | HWY 101 N/ HWY 128 |
| 8 September 2014 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | SHEAR |
| 8 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | RIVER |
| 7 September 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | DUTCHER |
| 7 September 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | KELLY |
| 7 September 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | 5.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | SKUNK |
| 7 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | NACO FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 32 workings within 5 miles of Cloverdale Railroad Station: 10 producers, 8 unknowns, 8 occurrences, 4 past producers. 10 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Mercury, Magnesite, Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barnes Mine | Chromium, Iron | Past Producer | 1884 | |
| Barnes Mine | Chromium | Past Producer | 1880, 1884, 1918 | |
| Unnamed Location | Chromium | Unknown | ||
| Shaw and Mathews | Manganese | Producer | Psilomelane | |
| Wright Prospect | Manganese | Occurrence | ||
| Wright Prospect | Manganese | Prospect | 1942 | |
| Albertz Ranch Deposit | Magnesite | Unknown | ||
| Brush | Magnesite | Occurrence | ||
| Burgaus Ranch | Magnesite | Occurrence | ||
| Curmings | Magnesite | Unknown |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cloverdale, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2014 and 2020: 1 heavy rain, 1 flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2020 | Hail | Cloverdale | - | Quarter inch hail reported in Cloverdale. |
| February 2017 | Flood | Cloverdale | - | Flooding US 101N and S Cloverdale Blvd. |
| December 2014 | Heavy Rain | Cloverdale | - | Rainfall totals of 4.5 inches so far, with 2.5 inches since midnight. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Gould-Shaw House | 0.4 miles | 1992 |
![]() | Simon Pinschower House | 0.4 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Isaac E. Shaw Building | 0.4 miles | 1991 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 76000536 in Record Group 79. |
| Sonoma County | All 73 listed properties in this county. |