From the record
One of 136 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 1985 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985. 19 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1896.
One of 136 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 1985 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 87 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 171 fires within 5 miles of Kroger-Melrose District between 1998 and 2020, burning about 6,067 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 32 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 79 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 32 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 20 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 17 |
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Smoking | 7 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 6 September 2009 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 30 September 2006 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 27 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 27 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 27 September 2005 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 26 September 2010 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 26 September 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of Kroger-Melrose District: 14 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Garber Brickk & Tile Co. | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Bixby Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Orange Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Cunningham and Son | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Garden Grove Sand & Gravel Co. | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Irvine Lake Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| L. O. Swartzbaugh | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| La Habra Sand & Gravel Co. | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Orange County Brick & Tile Co. | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Orange Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Anaheim, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 2001 and 2021: 2 flood, 1 wildfire, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2002 | Wildfire | Anaheim | $1,200,000 | no account filed |
| December 2021 | Heavy Rain | Anaheim | - | Widespread rainfall reports of 2 to 5 inches, locally higher across Orange County through the duration of the event. |
| December 2018 | Flash Flood | Anaheim | - | Spotter reported flash flooding on Orangethorpe Avenue at Raymond Street in Anaheim. |
| December 2014 | Flood | Anaheim | - | Streets just south of Garden Grove were closed due to flooding, as reported by the Orange County Skywarn coordinator. The nearby Anaheim Barber City mesonet station reported a 3-hour rainfall total of 1.22 inches. |
| February 2001 | Flood | Anaheim | - | Water was flowing over Prado Dam and street flooding was reported on Interstate 605 at Cerritos Road. |
| February 2005 | Hail | Anaheim | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Carnegie Library | 0.3 miles | 1979 |
![]() | Samuel Kraemer Building (American Savings Bank/First National Bank) | 0.3 miles | 1983 |
| Pickwick Hotel | 0.3 miles | 1979 | |
![]() | Anaheim Orange and Lemon Association Packing House | 0.3 miles | 2015 |
| Melrose-Backs Neighborhood Houses | 0.3 miles | 1986 | |
![]() | Ferdinand Backs House | 0.3 miles | 1980 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 85001326 in Record Group 79. |
| Orange County | All 136 listed properties in this county. |