Built in 1915 (Boom Town style). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. 20 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1896.
From the record
“Irvine Blacksmith Shop, at 14952 Sand Canyon Ave. in Irvine, California, was built in 1915-16 by the Irvine Company. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.”
Wikipedia article Irvine Blacksmith Shop, CC BY-SA 4.0.
One of 136 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 1986 · category: Building · built in 1915, Boom Town style.
National Register reference number.86000452- the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.
Then and now
1896 to 1983
The ground this property stands on, surveyed
87 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are
United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.
18961983
Fires near this property
147 since 2005
Regional context, not property-specific
evidence. The
federal wildfire occurrence database
lists 147 fires within 5 miles of Irvine Blacksmith Shop
between 2005 and 2020, burning about 256 acres in total. None started naturally. 36 were recorded as arson.
Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted
here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
Reported cause
Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
63
Arson/incendiarism
36
Smoking
27
Equipment and vehicle use
13
Misuse of fire by a minor
7
Debris and open burning
1
The most recent of
them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service
that recorded it.
Date
Cause
Size
Reported by
Name on the report
5 September 2019
Equipment and vehicle use
under an acre
Orange County Fire Authority
not named
4 September 2018
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
3 September 2018
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
28 September 2018
Smoking
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
28 September 2016
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
28 September 2005
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
27 September 2010
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
not named
21 September 2018
Missing data/not specified/undetermined
under an acre
California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection
Regional context, not property-specific
evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists
5 workings within 5 miles of Irvine Blacksmith Shop: 2 producers, 2 past producers, 1 occurrence.
2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Lead, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the
map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring
settlement's page as well.
Regional context, not property-specific
evidence. The National Weather Service names
Irvine, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 1997 and 2025: 4 flood, 3 flash flood, 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 funnel cloud.
No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office
filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date
opens the federal record of that event.
A resident in Irvine posted a youtube video of tree damage in Irvine at Kazan Street. Numerous very large tree branches down, some on top of cars. Branches look about a half foot in diameter with some branches about 20 feet in length. One tree branch broke an apartment window.
United States Geological Survey topographic
sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then
testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close
enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both
positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties
to their map sheets.
Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.