From the record
One of 73 National Register listings published here for Sonoma County · listed in 1994 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1916.
One of 73 National Register listings published here for Sonoma County · listed in 1994 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 67 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 296 fires within 5 miles of Glen Oaks Ranch between 1992 and 2020, burning about 57,085 acres in total. None started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 117 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 108 |
| Debris and open burning | 27 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 13 |
| Smoking | 12 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | not named |
| 9 September 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | CAVEDALE |
| 8 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | BRISTOL |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.4 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | ARNOLD |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | HAWKS |
| 7 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | BARCELONA |
| 6 September 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | ARNOLD |
| 5 September 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Sonoma-Lake Napa Unit | TRINITY |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 33 workings within 5 miles of Glen Oaks Ranch: 12 past producers, 11 producers, 5 prospects, 3 occurrences. 11 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Diatomite, Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Search Group | Copper | Prospect | ||
| Trinity Quarry | Stone, Dimension | Producer | ||
| Valley of the Moon | Flagstone | Past Producer | ||
| Nuns Canyon Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Unnamed Location | Aluminum | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Location | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Location | Perlite | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed Location | Geothermal | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Location | Perlite | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed Prospect | Aluminum | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Glen Ellen, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2019: 1 debris flow. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2019 | Debris Flow | Glen Ellen | - | Mud/dirt/rock slide reported at Warm Springs Rd and Arnold Dr. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Hotel Chauvet | 1.2 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Sonoma State Home-Main Building | 1.7 miles | 2000 |
![]() | Jack London Ranch | 2.1 miles | 1966 |
![]() | Nicholas Carriger Estate | 5.2 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Vallejo Estate | 5.7 miles | 1972 |
![]() | Sonoma Depot | 5.9 miles | 1975 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 94001223 in Record Group 79. |
| Sonoma County | All 73 listed properties in this county. |