From the record
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Stanislaus County · listed in 1996 · category: Building · built in 1921.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Built in 1921. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1916.
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Stanislaus County · listed in 1996 · category: Building · built in 1921.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 234 fires within 5 miles of Riverbank Branch Library between 1992 and 2020, burning about 187 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 171 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 23 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 19 |
| Smoking | 11 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 6 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Tuolumne-Calaveras Unit | not named |
| 7 September 2005 | Smoking | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 6 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 30 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 28 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 26 September 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 24 September 2017 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Riverbank Branch Library: 1 producer, 1 unknown. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Main Riverbank Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Oakdale Rock Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Riverbank, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2024: 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2024 | Flood | Riverbank | - | California Highway Patrol reported roadway flooding at Terminal Ave and Claribel Road, completely covered with water. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bald Eagle Ranch House | 3.1 miles | 2014 | |
| Dr. Robert and Mary Walton House | 3.3 miles | 2006 | |
![]() | First National Bank of Oakdale Building | 5.3 miles | 2000 |
![]() | McHenry Mansion | 7.2 miles | 1978 |
![]() | Walter B. Wood House | 7.4 miles | 1988 |
![]() | U.S. Post Office | 7.4 miles | 1983 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 96001077 in Record Group 79. |
| Stanislaus County | All 24 listed properties in this county. |