From the record
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Chaffee County · listed in 2005 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Chaffee County · listed in 2005 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 120 fires within 5 miles of Hutchinson Ranch (Boundary Increase) between 1996 and 2020, burning about 29 acres in total. 16 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 79 |
| Natural | 16 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 9 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2000 | Natural | under an acre | Royal Gorge Field Office | DEAD HORSE |
| 22 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Salida Fire Department | UNKNOWN |
| 2 September 2019 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Colorado State Forest Service-State Headquarters | N/A |
| 2 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
| 19 September 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Sedgwick Volunteer Fire Department | UNKNOWN |
| 8 August 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Sedgwick Volunteer Fire Department | UNKNOWN |
| 31 August 2014 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
| 31 August 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Colorado State Forest Service-State Headquarters | SALIDA |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 47 workings within 5 miles of Hutchinson Ranch (Boundary Increase): 27 past producers, 12 occurrences, 6 producers, 2 unknowns. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Granite, Fluorine-Fluorite, Copper, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleora District | Copper, Tungsten, Gold | Past Producer | 1870 | |
| Cottonwood Creek Magnetite Deposit | Iron | Occurrence | Magnetite | |
| Marvel | Mica | Occurrence | Mica | |
| Polly No 4 | Silver, Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| Poncha Springs | Geothermal | Unknown | ||
| R D H Mill | Lead, Zinc, Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Salt Creek | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Sedalia Mine | Zinc, Copper, Gold, Silver, Lead | Past Producer | 1878, 1883, 1923 | |
| Calcium Mill | Calcium | Past Producer | ||
| Colorado Granite Finishing Plant | Stone | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Salida, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 2003 and 2022: 4 flash flood, 2 lightning, 2 hail, 1 debris flow. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2003 | Lightning | Salida | $50,000 | no account filed |
| August 2022 | Debris Flow | Salida | - | A boulder the size of an engine was reported to have fallen into the road of Highway 285. |
| July 2021 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | County roads 110 and 111 were washed out. |
| August 2021 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | Emergency management reported county roads 107 and 107A were flooded. |
| July 2020 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | County Highway 101 is washed out near junction of Highway 50. |
| July 2007 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | Heavy rain caused flooding of several county roads around Salida, including County Roads 107, 108, 111, and 291. |
| July 2013 | Hail | Salida | - | no account filed |
| July 2006 | Hail | Salida | - | no account filed |
| July 2003 | Lightning | Salida | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hutchinson Ranch | 0.5 miles | 1973 | |
![]() | Valley View School | 1.0 miles | 2003 |
![]() | Poncha Springs Schoolhouse | 1.8 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Chaffee County Poor Farm | 2.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | Ohio-Colorado Smelting and Refining Company Smokestack | 2.3 miles | 1976 |
![]() | Pedro-Botz House | 2.3 miles | 2015 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 05000309 in Record Group 79. |
| Chaffee County | All 46 listed properties in this county. |