BlockBefore
Photograph of Crystola Bridge
Photograph by ForgottenColorado, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Crystola Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023.

From the record

One of 11 National Register listings published here for Teller County · listed in 2023 · category: Structure.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. .06 mi. north of Crystola on Teller Cty. Rd. 21, Crystola, 80863
  • When was it listed? March 2023
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Highway Bridges in Colorado MPS
  • Census division. Divide
  • National Register reference number. 100008724 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

269 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 269 fires within 5 miles of Crystola Bridge between 1992 and 2020, burning about 116 acres in total. 48 started naturally. 15 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined115
Recreation and ceremony67
Natural48
Arson/incendiarism15
Smoking7
Equipment and vehicle use6
Debris and open burning4
Misuse of fire by a minor3
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTeller Countynot named
6 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acrePike and San Isabel National ForestEAGLE LAKE
6 September 1992Recreation and ceremonyunder an acrePike and San Isabel National Forestnot named
3 September 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acrePike and San Isabel National ForestCAMP #1
3 September 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acrePike and San Isabel National ForestMISTLETOE
29 September 2019Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acrePike and San Isabel National ForestLOY CREEK
28 September 2016Recreation and ceremonyunder an acrePike and San Isabel National Forest950
27 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFalcon Fire Protection DistrictUNKNOWN

Every fire recorded in Teller County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 18 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Crystola Bridge: 7 producers, 7 past producers, 2 occurrences, 2 unknowns. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Quartz, Manganese. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
AvengersStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Green Mountain Falls DistrictIron, Manganese, Gold, Lead, ZincPast Producer1904, 1958
Holly #1Limestone, GeneralProducerLimestone
Iron King MineLead, Gold, Zinc, ManganeseOccurrenceVein
Round TopGoldPast Producer
Round Top, Peacock, Rp LodesSilver, Copper, Gold, RadiumOccurrencePitchblende
UnknownVermiculiteUnknown
Unnamed MineFluorine-Fluorite, ZirconiumProducerFluorite
Unnamed MineFluorine-Fluorite, ZirconiumPast Producer
NavajoQuartzProducer

Every working recorded in Teller County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100008724 in Record Group 79.
Teller CountyAll 11 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.