From the record
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Chaffee County · listed in 2015 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2015.
One of 46 National Register listings published here for Chaffee County · listed in 2015 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 94 fires within 5 miles of Salida Livestock Commission Company between 1994 and 2020, burning about 17 acres in total. 19 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 54 |
| Natural | 19 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2000 | Natural | under an acre | Royal Gorge Field Office | DEAD HORSE |
| 22 September 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Salida Fire Department | UNKNOWN |
| 2 September 2019 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Colorado State Forest Service-State Headquarters | N/A |
| 2 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
| 31 August 2014 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
| 29 August 2002 | Natural | under an acre | Pike and San Isabel National Forest | LONG FELLOW |
| 26 August 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
| 26 August 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Arkansas Fire Protection District | UNKNOWN |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 65 workings within 5 miles of Salida Livestock Commission Company: 33 past producers, 21 occurrences, 7 producers, 2 unknowns. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Granite, Gold, Tungsten, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleora District | Copper, Tungsten, Gold | Past Producer | 1870 | |
| Grand View Mine | Copper, Tungsten, Gold | Past Producer | 1890, 1905 | |
| Marvel | Mica | Occurrence | Mica | |
| Polly No 4 | Silver, Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | ||
| R D H Mill | Lead, Zinc, Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Rogers Wellsville | Limestone, General | Producer | Sedimentary | |
| True Blue 1, Oliver 1 Claims | Uranium | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Marble, Dimension | Occurrence | Metamorphic | |
| Wellsville Warm Spring | Geothermal | Unknown | ||
| Black Beauty Deposit | Manganese, Iron | Occurrence | Limonite, Pyrolusite, Rhodonite, Siderite |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Salida, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 2003 and 2022: 4 flash flood, 2 lightning, 2 hail, 1 debris flow. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2003 | Lightning | Salida | $50,000 | no account filed |
| August 2022 | Debris Flow | Salida | - | A boulder the size of an engine was reported to have fallen into the road of Highway 285. |
| July 2021 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | County roads 110 and 111 were washed out. |
| August 2021 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | Emergency management reported county roads 107 and 107A were flooded. |
| July 2020 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | County Highway 101 is washed out near junction of Highway 50. |
| July 2007 | Flash Flood | Salida | - | Heavy rain caused flooding of several county roads around Salida, including County Roads 107, 108, 111, and 291. |
| July 2013 | Hail | Salida | - | no account filed |
| July 2006 | Hail | Salida | - | no account filed |
| July 2003 | Lightning | Salida | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Manhattan Hotel | 1.6 miles | 1983 |
![]() | F.A. Jackson House | 1.8 miles | 1999 |
![]() | E.W. Corbin House | 1.8 miles | 1996 |
| First Baptist Church of Salida | 1.8 miles | 2024 | |
![]() | Garret and Julia Gray Cottage | 1.9 miles | 1980 |
![]() | Bode-Stewart House | 1.9 miles | 2008 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 15000465 in Record Group 79. |
| Chaffee County | All 46 listed properties in this county. |