Port Sutton, Florida
17 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1921 and the latest in 1995. It stands in the Palm River-Gibsonton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 33619. It stands on Delaney Creek. The Survey maps it on the Tampa quadrangle.
Then and now
1921 to 1995The same ground, surveyed 74 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Compare 1921 against another survey:
Topographic sheets covering this place
11 surveys from 17 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1921 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:62500
- 1944 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:31680
- 1947 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:25000, 2 printings
- 1956 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1959 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1972 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:250000
- 1981 USGS St Petersburg quadrangle1:100000
- 1988 USGS St Petersburg quadrangle1:250000
- 1995 USGS Tampa quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
51 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 51 fires within 5 miles of Port Sutton between 1992 and 2018, burning about 770 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 10 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 5 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 September 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | MCAY BAY (29) |
| 29 August 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | 20 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 28 July 1996 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 9.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 23 July 1994 | Natural | 2.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 13 July 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | RIVERVIEW DR II (29) |
| 12 July 2014 | Natural | 10 acres | Florida Forest Service | RIVERVIEW (29) |
| 9 June 1993 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 6 June 1992 | Natural | 35 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
9 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Port Sutton: 5 plants, 3 unknowns, 1 producer. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Phosphorus-Phosphates, Sand, Salt, Gypsum-Anhydrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Gypsum Corp. | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Unknown | ||
| Tampa Cement Mill | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Plant | ||
| Tampa Salt & Service Company | Salt | Plant | ||
| Parkway Center Community - Parkway Pit | Sand | Producer | ||
| Star 101 Development, Inc. - Canterbury Lakes Mine | Sand | Unknown | ||
| Big Bend Terminal | Phosphorus-Phosphates | Plant | ||
| Port Sutton Plant & Mine | Phosphorus-Phosphates | Plant | ||
| Tampa Cargil Inc. | Phosphorus-Phosphates | Plant | ||
| Tampa Phosphoric Acid Plant | Phosphorus-Phosphates | Unknown | 1965 |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Palm River | 2.8 miles | 17 | |
| Progress Village | 3.0 miles | 16 | |
| Clair-Mel City | 3.2 miles | 16 | |
| Gary | 3.4 miles | 17 | |
| Tampa | 3.5 miles | 17 | |
| East Tampa | 3.6 miles | 18 | |
| Palma Ceia | 4.1 miles | 17 | |
| Ybor City | 4.1 miles | 17 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Port Sutton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q15267649 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 295811. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.










