From the record
One of 78 National Register listings published here for Polk County · listed in 2022 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022. 6 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1955.
One of 78 National Register listings published here for Polk County · listed in 2022 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 24 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 96 fires within 5 miles of John H. Evans House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,712 acres in total. 12 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 21 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 16 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 15 |
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Natural | 12 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 9 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 98 acres | Florida Forest Service | 53 SOUTH MATTIE MARSH |
| 30 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | 53 GONZO |
| 15 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 29 August 1999 | Natural | 10 acres | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 18 August 1992 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 17 August 1996 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 3 July 1992 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Florida Forest Service | not named |
| 27 July 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2.0 acres | Florida Forest Service | KUDER ROAD (53) |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of John H. Evans House: 1 prospect, 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Diatomite, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scanamerican Holdings - Green Valley Soil Mine | Clay | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed Diatomite Prosect | Diatomite | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lake Alfred, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1997 and 2024: 6 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lake Alfred | $100,000 | Polk County Emergency Management reported that thunderstorm winds downed several large trees and a few power poles along County Road 557 in Lake Alfred to State Road 60 in Bartow. |
| October 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lake Alfred | $2,000 | Thunderstorm winds downed several trees and partially removed the siding off a building in Lake Alfred. |
| May 2024 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | Picture posted on social media displayed golf ball size hail near Lake Alfred. |
| May 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lake Alfred | - | EM relayed report of damage to the carport of a home near Lake Alfred. |
| April 2023 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | Public report received via social media of 1.75-inch hail between Lake Alfred and Haines City. |
| May 2015 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | Polk County Emergency Management relayed a report of quarter sized hail in Winter Haven. |
| June 2011 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | Quarter sized hail was reported in Lake Alfred. |
| July 2000 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | The public reported, through WTVT-TV of Tampa, nickel sized hail near the intersection of U.S. Highways 92 and 17 in Lake Alfred of northern Polk county. |
| May 2003 | Hail | Lake Alfred | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Interlaken Historic Residential District | 3.1 miles | 2002 |
![]() | Holland Jenks House | 4.0 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Ephriam M. Baynard House | 4.2 miles | 2001 |
![]() | Auburndale City Hall | 4.3 miles | 2013 |
![]() | Auburndale Citrus Growers Association Packing House | 4.4 miles | 1997 |
![]() | Pope Avenue Historic District | 5.2 miles | 2001 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100008019 in Record Group 79. |
| Polk County | All 78 listed properties in this county. |