BlockBefore
Photograph of James Laughlin House
Photograph by PanzerMan1002, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

James Laughlin House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016. 6 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1955.

From the record

One of 56 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 2016 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Laughlin, James, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 5538 Sydonie Dr., Mount Dora, 32757
  • When was it listed? June 2016
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Apopka
  • Architect. Grosvenor Atterbury
  • National Register reference number. 16000423 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

71 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 71 fires within 5 miles of James Laughlin House between 1992 and 2018, burning about 1,055 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Railroad operations and maintenance30
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Arson/incendiarism10
Debris and open burning6
Natural3
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Equipment and vehicle use2
Recreation and ceremony2
Other causes1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
18 September 2000Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreFlorida Forest Servicenot named
9 July 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
8 July 2017Natural15 acresFlorida Forest ServiceFUDGE(48)
8 July 1995Railroad operations and maintenance7.0 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
7 July 2000Railroad operations and maintenance60 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
1 July 1998Railroad operations and maintenance5.0 acresFlorida Forest Servicenot named
6 June 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFlorida Forest ServicePITT (4)
23 June 2007Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresFlorida Forest ServiceTREETOP (04)

Every fire recorded in Orange County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of James Laughlin House: 3 past producers, 1 producer, 1 unknown. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Sand. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Codding Sand and Soil Co. - Codding PitSandProducer
Coddings Sand and Sail Inc.ClayUnknown
Plymouth PitClay, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Plymouth PitClay, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Warren PitClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Orange County

Maps showing this location

6 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mitchill-Tibbetts House6.9 miles1991
Waite-Davis House6.9 miles1990
Carroll Building7.3 miles1993
Apopka Seaboard Air Line Railway Depot7.3 miles1993
Ryan & Company Lumber Yard7.4 miles1993

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 16000423 in Record Group 79.
Orange CountyAll 56 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.