BlockBefore
Photograph of Starrsville Historic District
Photograph by Keizers, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Starrsville Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

One of 13 National Register listings published here for Newton County · listed in 1998 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. Jct. GA 213, Old Starsville and Dixie Rds., Starrsville, 30014
  • When was it listed? June 1998
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Mansfield
  • National Register reference number. 98000715 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

239 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 239 fires within 5 miles of Starrsville Historic District between 1992 and 2018, burning about 622 acres in total. 13 started naturally. 34 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning118
Arson/incendiarism34
Misuse of fire by a minor17
Missing data/not specified/undetermined16
Equipment and vehicle use15
Natural13
Smoking12
Recreation and ceremony10
Railroad operations and maintenance4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2002-NEWTON-003
26 September 2008Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 2013Debris and open burning1.6 acresGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2014-NEWTON-001
19 September 2005Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2005Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1999Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1993Arson/incendiarismunder an acreGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named
12 September 1999Misuse of fire by a minor1.8 acresGeorgia Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Newton County

Storms near this property

3 since 2014

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Starrsville, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2014 and 2021: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2016Thunderstorm WindStarrsville$6,000The Newton County 911 center reported trees blown down around County Road 213 and Alcovy Reserve Way and power lines blown down on Pine Street in Mansfield.
January 2021Thunderstorm WindStarrsville$1,000The Newton County Emergency Manager reported a tree blown down near the intersection of East End Road and Highway 36.
December 2014HailStarrsville-Employees of Hendersons Grocery and Shell Station at State Highway 36 and Henderson Mill/Flat Shoals Road reported quarter-sized hail.

Every storm recorded in Newton County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Covington Historic District5.1 miles1998
Burge Farm5.2 miles2000
Floyd Street Historic District5.3 miles1974
Newton County Courthouse5.5 miles1980
Porterdale Historic District5.7 miles2001
Covington Mills and Mill Village Historic District5.7 miles2000

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98000715 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Newton CountyAll 13 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.