BlockBefore
Photograph of Sue McBeth Cabin
Photograph by JERRY & ROY KLOTZ MD, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Sue McBeth Cabin

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

From the record

One of 42 National Register listings published here for Idaho County · listed in 1976 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. McBeth, Sue, Cabin - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. SE of Kamiah on U.S. 12, Kamiah, 83536
  • When was it listed? June 1976
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Nez Perce
  • National Register reference number. 76000675 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

182 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 182 fires within 5 miles of Sue McBeth Cabin between 1992 and 2020, burning about 5,855 acres in total. 64 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural64
Missing data/not specified/undetermined53
Debris and open burning25
Arson/incendiarism11
Recreation and ceremony8
Equipment and vehicle use7
Misuse of fire by a minor6
Fireworks6
Smoking1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1997Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresIdaho Department of LandsHAYSTACK
7 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMaggie Creek Area OfficeRAILROAD
7 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMaggie Creek Area OfficeKIDDER
7 September 1998Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsPARADIS LOST
7 September 1998Naturalunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsGLENWOOD
6 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCottonwood Field OfficeESCORT
4 September 1999Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsPIT
3 September 1994Debris and open burningunder an acreIdaho Department of LandsTRASH

Every fire recorded in Idaho County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Sue McBeth Cabin: 4 producers, 3 unknowns, 3 past producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Mica, Uranium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ida-Lew ConstructionUranium, StonePast Producer
Myers Mica MineMica, PGE, MolybdenumUnknown
Myers Mica MineMicaPast Producer1920
Abbie Welch Rock PitStoneProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kidder Ridge PitStoneUnknown
Seven Mile PitStoneProducer
State Pit 425-166Sand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Idaho County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
First Presbyterian Churchunder 500 feet1976
State Bank of Kooskia4.7 miles1978

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 76000675 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Idaho CountyAll 42 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.