BlockBefore

Proctor Mountain Ski Lift

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.

From the record

One of 21 National Register listings published here for Blaine County · listed in 1980 · category: Object.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Trail Creek, Sun Valley, 83353
  • When was it listed? January 1980
  • Category. object
  • Census division. Ketchum
  • National Register reference number. 80001294 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

49 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 49 fires within 5 miles of Proctor Mountain Ski Lift between 1992 and 2020, burning about 657 acres in total. 13 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Recreation and ceremony20
Natural13
Equipment and vehicle use6
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Smoking2
Other causes1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Debris and open burning1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 2000Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSawtooth National ForestGREYHAWK
24 September 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSawtooth National ForestCOLLEGE
18 September 2008Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSawtooth National ForestWILSON CREEK
16 September 1998Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSawtooth National ForestUNCLE JOHNS
13 September 2013Naturalunder an acreSawtooth National ForestCOTTONWOOD
13 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreTwin Falls DistrictBOUNDARY CG
25 August 2001Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSawtooth National ForestBROADWAY
21 August 2011Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSawtooth National ForestCORRAL CREEK

Every fire recorded in Blaine County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 62 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 62 workings within 5 miles of Proctor Mountain Ski Lift: 22 past producers, 18 occurrences, 16 unknowns, 6 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Lead, Silver, Gold, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bald Eagle MineCopper, Silver, Lead, GoldUnknown
Bald Eagle ProspectGold, Copper, Silver, LeadOccurrenceChalcopyrite, Galena, Sphalerite
Baltimore MineZinc, Silver, Lead, Gold, CopperPast Producer
ElkhornLead, Zinc, Silver, GoldPast Producer
Elkhorn MineSilver, Gold, LeadPast Producer1879
Evelyn ProspectCoal, LeadOccurrenceSedimentary
Evelyn ProspectLead, CoalUnknown
Homestake ProspectCopper, Zinc, Antimony, Silver, LeadUnknown
Ida HarlanStone, Crushed/Broken, Zinc, Silver, Lead, QuartzUnknown
Ida Harlan ProspectSilver, Zinc, LeadOccurrenceVein

Every working recorded in Blaine County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 80001294 in Record Group 79.
Blaine CountyAll 21 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.