From the record
One of 58 National Register listings published here for Latah County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
One of 58 National Register listings published here for Latah County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 44 fires within 5 miles of St. Joseph's Catholic Church between 1992 and 2020, burning about 23 acres in total. 26 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 26 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2013 | Natural | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | HUNTER |
| 8 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Clearwater Potlatch Timber Protective Association | RUBY CREEK POWERLINE |
| 7 September 2013 | Natural | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | JACKSON MOUNTAIN |
| 7 September 1995 | Natural | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | BOVILL HIGHWAY |
| 3 September 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | MARKER 38 PL |
| 28 September 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | FORKS |
| 27 September 2019 | Natural | under an acre | Idaho Department of Lands | FORKS |
| 25 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | 4.0 acres | Idaho Department of Lands | FORKS |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of St. Joseph's Catholic Church: 6 producers, 4 occurrences, 3 past producers. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Kaolin, Stone, Silica. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bobs Creek Mica Occurrence | Mica | Occurrence | ||
| Bovill Clay Deposit | Water, Free, Titanium, Silica, Iron, Aluminum | Past Producer | 1943, 1961 | |
| Gold Hunter Prospect | Lead, Gold, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Helmer Clay Deposit | Kaolin, Silica | Producer | 1956 | |
| Miclasil Mine and Mill | Clay | Producer | ||
| Sherwin Garnet Placer | Garnet | Occurrence | Placer | |
| Bouill Rock Quarry | Stone | Producer | ||
| Deary Pit | Stone | Producer | ||
| Moose Creek Clay Mine | Kaolin | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Bovill, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1995: 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 1995 | Hail | Bovill | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Hotel Bovill | 0.2 miles | 1994 |
![]() | Bovill Opera House | 0.2 miles | 2010 |
| Russell Lawrence Farmstead | 6.0 miles | 2011 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 82000351 in Record Group 79. |
| Latah County | All 58 listed properties in this county. |