BlockBefore
Photograph of Martin-Boismenue House
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Pierre Martin House

Built in 1790. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

From the record

“The Pierre Martin House is a single-family French Colonial House and historic site in East Carondelet, Illinois about 1.5 miles (2.4 km) East of the Mississippi River. The house, built circa 1790, is owned by the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency. and located at the intersection of First Street and Water Street in North Dupo.”

Wikipedia article Pierre Martin House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 27 National Register listings published here for St. Clair County · listed in 1990 · category: Building · built in 1790.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Martin, Pierre, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. First St. at Old Rt. 3, North Dupo, 62240
  • When was it listed? February 1990
  • Category. building
  • Township. Sugar Loaf township
  • When was it built? 1790
  • National Register reference number. 89002350 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

2 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Pierre Martin House between 2006 and 2014, burning about 2 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 March 2014Misuse of fire by a minor1.0 acresMissouri Department of Conservationnot named
9 October 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresMissouri State Fire Marshal's Officenot named

Every fire recorded in St. Clair County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 36 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 36 workings within 5 miles of Pierre Martin House: 28 past producers, 4 plants, 2 producers, 1 occurrence. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory), Coal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hydraulic Press Brick Co Mine No.6ClayPast Producer
Hypothetical Lead MineLead, Silver, Zinc, Cobalt, Copper, Nickel, CadmiumProspectUnderground
Parker-Russell Fireclay MineFire Clay (Refractory), CoalPast Producer
Alpha PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Superior Dredge and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPlant
Unknown - S&GSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unknown - S&GSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Allen QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Casper Stolle Quarry & MillStone, Crushed/BrokenPlant
Columbia Quarry & Mill #9Stone, Crushed/BrokenPlant

Every working recorded in St. Clair County

Storms near this property

1 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names North Dupo, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2018: 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2018HailNorth Dupo-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Clair County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89002350 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Clair CountyAll 27 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.