BlockBefore
Photograph of Edward E. Hartwick Memorial Building
Photograph by Unknown, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Edward E. Hartwick Memorial Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.

From the record

“Hartwick Memorial Building is a museum building located on Hartwick Pines Road in Grayling Charter Township, Michigan, in the Hartwick Pines State Park. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.”

Wikipedia article Edward E. Hartwick Memorial Building, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 3 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 1998 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Hartwick, Edward E., Memorial Building - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Hartwick Pines Rd., Grayling Township, 49738
  • When was it listed? October 1998
  • Category. building
  • Charter township. Grayling charter township
  • National Register reference number. 98001216 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

86 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 86 fires within 5 miles of Edward E. Hartwick Memorial Building between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,455 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined40
Debris and open burning10
Arson/incendiarism9
Equipment and vehicle use9
Power generation/transmission/distribution6
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking2
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2002Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
19 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined115 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCRAWFORD 08 - NORTH FOB
3 August 2004Naturalunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
2 August 2004Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
17 August 2008Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural ResourcesCRAWFORD - BLAAUW
17 August 1992Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresMichigan Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Crawford County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Edward E. Hartwick Memorial Building: 1 past producer, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Jack Milliken PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Clay ProspectClayProspect

Every working recorded in Crawford County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
M-27-Au Sable River Bridge6.3 miles1999

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 98001216 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Crawford CountyAll 3 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.