BlockBefore

Canisteo District General Office Building

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

From the record

One of 19 National Register listings published here for Itasca County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 200 Cole Ave., Coleraine, 55722
  • When was it listed? April 1982
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Oliver Iron Mining Company Buildings TR
  • City. Taconite city
  • National Register reference number. 82002970 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

112 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 112 fires within 5 miles of Canisteo District General Office Building between 1992 and 2020, burning about 214 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 42 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism42
Debris and open burning34
Missing data/not specified/undetermined20
Smoking8
Recreation and ceremony3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Natural1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 September 2003Smokingunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
21 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 July 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
9 May 2013Arson/incendiarism1.5 acresMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 May 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 May 2016Arson/incendiarismunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
7 May 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreMinnesota Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Itasca County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 72 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 72 workings within 5 miles of Canisteo District General Office Building: 38 past producers, 21 producers, 11 prospects, 2 occurrences. 21 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Water, Free, Aluminum, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Silica, Water, Free, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Buckeye MineIron, Aluminum, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Water, Free, SilicaPast Producer1943
Fargo Reserve H-5Iron, Water, Free, Aluminum, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, SilicaProspect
Holman-Cliffs MineIron, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Silica, Water, Free, AluminumPast Producer1907
Bovey-Delaittre Reserve H-27Iron, Aluminum, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Silica, Water, FreeProspect
Hill Lake Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Homestead 0-68 ReserveAluminum, Iron, Manganese, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Silica, Water, FreeProspect
Itasca County Marl Beds No 1Limestone, GeneralOccurrence
Itasca County Marl Beds No 2Limestone, GeneralOccurrence
Lind-Greenway MineIron, Water, FreePast Producer1890, 1940
Plummer GroupIron, Water, FreePast Producer1954

Every working recorded in Itasca County

Storms near this property

11 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Coleraine, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1999 and 2024: 8 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2024Thunderstorm WindColeraine-Numerous small to medium sized trees were uprooted or snapped per photos received.
July 2018Thunderstorm WindColeraine-A tree was knocked down onto County Road 440.
July 2006HailColeraine-There were also numerous trees down.
July 2006HailColeraine-Numerous trees and branches were also blown down.
June 2022HailColeraine-no account filed
June 2022HailColeraine-no account filed
July 2021HailColeraine-no account filed
July 2021HailColeraine-no account filed
September 2007HailColeraine-no account filed
August 2001HailColeraine-no account filed
July 1999Thunderstorm WindColeraine-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Itasca County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
General Superintendent's Houseunder 500 feet1982
Coleraine Carnegie Library0.1 miles1980
Coleraine City Hall0.2 miles1992
Coleraine Methodist Episcopal Church0.2 miles1982
Church of the Good Shepherd0.3 miles1980
Bovey Village Hall0.7 miles1991

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82002970 in Record Group 79.
Itasca CountyAll 19 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.