BlockBefore
Photograph of Dr. Don L. Byam House
Photograph by Dskdrive, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Dr. Don L. Byam House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

From the record

One of 18 National Register listings published here for Madison County · listed in 2002 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Byam, Dr. Don L., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Main St., Nevada City, 59755
  • When was it listed? March 2002
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Virginia City
  • National Register reference number. 02000103 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

8 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of Dr. Don L. Byam House between 1994 and 2017, burning about 159 acres in total. 2 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural2
Debris and open burning2
Other causes1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Fireworks1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
19 September 2001Other causesunder an acreBeaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestELKHORN CITY
5 August 1996Natural3.0 acresBeaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestHUNGRY HOLLOW
10 August 1994Natural1.0 acresBeaverhead-Deerlodge National Forestnot named
4 July 2017Fireworks1.0 acresCentral Land Officenot named
19 July 2011Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreBeaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestALDER GULCH
4 May 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined8.0 acresCentral Land Officenot named
19 May 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreBeaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestBROWNS GULCH
26 October 1999Debris and open burning145 acresBeaverhead-Deerlodge National ForestSUN RISER

Every fire recorded in Madison County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 75 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 75 workings within 5 miles of Dr. Don L. Byam House: 46 past producers, 11 unknowns, 7 occurrences, 6 prospects. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Silver, Gold, Silver, Copper, Lead, Silver, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Alder Gulch - Virginia CityGold, GarnetPast Producer1863, 1925
Alfreda MineManganese, Gold, SilverUnknown
California GulchNiobium (Columbium)Unknown
Fortune MineGold, Zinc, Lead, CopperPast Producer
GolcondaCopper, MolybdenumProspect
Mapleton MineGold, Silver, StonePast Producer
Sampson MineGold, Lead, SilverUnknown
Valley View and Lucky Strike Lode ClaimsGold, Silver, LeadPast ProducerVein
Winnetka MineGold, Silver, ZincPast ProducerVein
Alameda and Bamboo ChiefGold, Silver, LeadPast Producer

Every working recorded in Madison County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Finney Houseunder 500 feet2002
Madison Courthouse1.5 miles1966
Grace Methodist Church1.5 miles1966
Saint Mary of the Assumption7.5 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 02000103 in Record Group 79.
Madison CountyAll 18 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.