BlockBefore

Grant-Marshall Lime Kiln Historic District, The

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.

From the record

One of 14 National Register listings published here for Jefferson County · listed in 2017 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 sitess, 2 structuress as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 1000 ft. S of S end of Crystal Dr., Helena, 59634
  • When was it listed? December 2017
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Boulder
  • National Register reference number. 100001898 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

195 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 195 fires within 5 miles of Grant-Marshall Lime Kiln Historic District, The between 1992 and 2020, burning about 689 acres in total. 49 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined56
Natural49
Debris and open burning25
Recreation and ceremony24
Railroad operations and maintenance11
Equipment and vehicle use10
Fireworks7
Power generation/transmission/distribution6
Arson/incendiarism3
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Smoking2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1995Naturalunder an acreHelena - Lewis and Clark National ForestTUCKER GULCH/
30 September 2011Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreCentral Land OfficeRODNEY RIDGE
30 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCentral Land OfficeGLORY HOLE
3 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreButte Field OfficeROCKY
27 September 1992Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreHelena - Lewis and Clark National Forestnot named
2 September 2020Natural1.0 acresJefferson County267
18 September 2011Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreButte Field OfficeTRIANGLE
17 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresCentral Land Officenot named

Every fire recorded in Jefferson County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 74 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 74 workings within 5 miles of Grant-Marshall Lime Kiln Historic District, The: 25 past producers, 18 occurrences, 14 unknowns, 10 producers. 11 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Limestone, General, Silver, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
(Facility) East Helena Lead SmelterLead, Smelter, Sulfur, Sulfuric AcidPlant
Abc #1Thorium, UraniumOccurrenceTourmaline
Abc #1 PropertyUraniumProspect
Asarco Limestone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Blue Bird MineCopper, Gold, Iron, SilverProspect
Bompart HomesteadMicaOccurrence
C. E. S. Ballard, EtalUranium, ThoriumOccurrenceVein
East Helena Plant AsarcoSilver, Lead, Gold, CopperPast Producer
Easy Money GroupGold, Copper, Silver, LeadPast Producer
Edge No. 1, Norway No. 6Gold, Copper, Lead, SilverUnknown

Every working recorded in Jefferson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
W. C. Child Ranch4.0 miles1977

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100001898 in Record Group 79.
Jefferson CountyAll 14 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.