Dayton, New York
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1923 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Dayton town. It lies in ZIP code area 14070. The Survey maps it on the Gowanda quadrangle.
Then and now
1923 to 1986The same ground, surveyed 63 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1923 USGS Cattaraugus quadrangle1:62500, 4 printings
- 1938 USGS Cattaraugus quadrangle1:62500
- 1941 USGS Cattaraugus quadrangle1:62500
- 1960 USGS Buffalo quadrangle1:250000
- 1962 USGS Buffalo quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1963 USGS Gowanda quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1967 USGS Buffalo quadrangle1:250000
- 1973 USGS Buffalo quadrangle1:250000
- 1986 USGS Olean quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
89 since 2000Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 89 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 2000 and 2019, burning about 66 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 54 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 12 |
| Debris and open burning | 10 |
| Natural | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 September 2005 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 19 September 2009 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 11 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | New York Forest Rangers | SOUTH BRANCH FIRE |
| 7 August 2016 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 3 August 2018 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 27 August 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 25 August 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 23 August 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 4 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Salt. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C.J.Sutter No.1 Well | Salt | Past Producer | ||
| Gernatt Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| J.P.Strickland No.3 Well | Salt | Past Producer | ||
| South Dayton Dredge | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Vogtlis Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| William Hills No.1 Well | Salt | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
24 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 24 storm reports between 1994 and 2023: 19 thunderstorm wind, 3 flash flood, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 1994 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $50,000 | no account filed |
| July 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $25,000 | Law enforcement reported trees down on a house. |
| July 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $15,000 | no account filed |
| May 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $11,000 | no account filed |
| July 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $10,000 | Several trees and wires were downed in the town of South Dayton. |
| September 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| September 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires down by thunderstorm winds. |
| June 2015 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| January 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and power lines down. |
| July 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported numerous trees down. |
| May 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | no account filed |
| July 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | no account filed |
| July 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $10,000 | no account filed |
| October 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $8,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| July 2006 | Hail | Dayton | $8,000 | no account filed |
| June 2006 | Hail | South Dayton | $5,000 | no account filed |
| July 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $2,000 | Several trees were downed in Dayton. |
| August 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $2,000 | Trees and wires were downed. |
| July 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $2,000 | Two trees and powerlines were downed. |
| April 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $1,000 | Trees were downed in the town of Dayton. |
| July 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | South Dayton | $1,000 | Trees down in South Dayton. |
| September 2022 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Flooding was reported on Jolls Road and Dewey Road. |
| September 2022 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Flooding was reported at Allen Street and James Street. |
| July 2020 | Flash Flood | South Dayton | - | Multiple roads were closed due to flooding in South Dayton. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Markhams | 1.9 miles | 18 | |
| Perrysburg | 3.0 miles | 18 | |
| Persia | 3.1 miles | 15 | |
| Wesley | 3.2 miles | 15 | |
| Cottage | 3.6 miles | 18 | |
| Gowanda | 3.9 miles | 15 | |
| East Leon | 4.9 miles | 15 | |
| Snyders Corners | 5.2 miles | 15 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 948093. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.








