Mount Hope, New York
19 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1906 and the latest in 1986. It stands in Mount Hope town. It lies in ZIP code area 10940. The Survey maps it on the Otisville quadrangle.
Then and now
1906 to 1986The same ground, surveyed 80 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Topographic sheets covering this place
11 surveys from 19 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1906 USGS Port Jervis quadrangle1:62500
- 1908 USGS Port Jervis quadrangle1:62500, 4 printings
- 1942 USGS Otisville quadrangle1:24000
- 1943 USGS Otisville quadrangle1:31680
- 1950 USGS Scranton quadrangle1:250000
- 1953 USGS Scranton quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Scranton quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1962 USGS Scranton quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1965 USGS Scranton quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1969 USGS Otisville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Middletown quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
351 since 2000Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 351 fires within 5 miles of Mount Hope between 2000 and 2020, burning about 386 acres in total. 22 started naturally. 38 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 221 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 38 |
| Debris and open burning | 25 |
| Natural | 22 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 17 |
| Smoking | 14 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 5 September 2020 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | New York Forest Rangers | CUDDEBACKVILLE FIRE |
| 5 September 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 5 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 4 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 28 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 27 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 26 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Mount Hope: 4 past producers, 2 prospects. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Lead, Zinc, Lead, Zinc, Zinc, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guymard Mine | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | Vein | |
| Guymard Lead-Zinc Deposit | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Washington Mine | Lead, Zinc | Prospect | ||
| Champion Mine | Lead, Zinc | Prospect | ||
| Otisville Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Washington Mining Co Mine Near Otisville | Zinc, Lead | Past Producer | Vein |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Otisville | 2.2 miles | 19 | |
| Baileyville | 2.8 miles | 23 | |
| Finchville | 2.9 miles | 19 | |
| Oak Ridge Park | 3.8 miles | 19 | |
| Howells | 3.9 miles | 23 | |
| Pine Grove | 4.0 miles | 19 | |
| Port Orange | 4.1 miles | 19 | |
| South Centerville | 4.1 miles | 19 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 957833. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.










