BlockBefore
Photograph of Tousley-Church House
Photograph by Daniel Case, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Tousley-Church House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002. 7 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

“The Tousley-Church House is located on North Main Street in Albion, New York, United States. It is a brick house in the Greek Revival architectural style built in two different stages in the mid-19th century.”

Wikipedia article Tousley-Church House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 30 National Register listings published here for Orleans County · listed in 2002 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Tousley--Church House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 249 N. Main St., Albion, 14411
  • When was it listed? February 2002
  • Category. building
  • Town. Albion town
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 01001565 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

140 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 140 fires within 5 miles of Tousley-Church House between 2001 and 2020, burning about 104 acres in total. 12 started naturally. 43 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined59
Arson/incendiarism43
Natural12
Smoking9
Debris and open burning8
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony2
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Other causes1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
7 September 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
30 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 September 2011Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
21 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
21 September 2010Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Orleans County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Tousley-Church House: 3 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gravel Pit No 5Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel Pit No 6Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Huckell PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Orleans County

Storms near this property

21 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Albion, the town this property stands in, in 21 storm reports between 1995 and 2020: 10 thunderstorm wind, 7 flash flood, 4 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2006Flash FloodAlbion$200,000no account filed
October 1996Flash FloodAlbion$50,000no account filed
October 1996Flash FloodAlbion$50,000no account filed
June 1996Thunderstorm WindAlbion$25,000no account filed
August 1996Flash FloodAlbion$25,000no account filed
September 1998HailAlbion$20,000no account filed
May 2017Thunderstorm WindAlbion$15,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds..
August 2016Thunderstorm WindAlbion$15,000Law enforcement report trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
January 1998Flash FloodAlbion$15,000no account filed
June 2020Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000A tree was downed onto a trailer.
June 2014Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000Officials reported trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
August 2012Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires down.
August 2009Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000Trees and wires were downed by thunderstorm winds.
September 2009Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires down on Crimson Heights Road.
September 2009Thunderstorm WindAlbion$10,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires down on Zig Zag Road.
June 2008HailAlbion$10,000no account filed
July 2008HailAlbion$5,000no account filed
July 1995Thunderstorm WindAlbion$3,000no account filed
January 1998Flash FloodAlbion$1,000no account filed
January 1998Flash FloodAlbion$1,000no account filed
August 2011HailAlbion-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Orleans County

Maps showing this location

7 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 01001565 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Orleans CountyAll 30 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.