BlockBefore
Photograph of Jonathan Wallace House
Photograph by Mwanner, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Jonathan Wallace House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1908.

From the record

“Jonathan Wallace House is a historic home located at Potsdam in St. It was built in 1828 and is a two-story, five-bay, hipped-roof Federal style residence with a two-story rear wing built about 1846.”

Wikipedia article Jonathan Wallace House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2003 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Wallace, Jonathan, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 99 Market St., Potsdam, 13676
  • When was it listed? June 2003
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Red Potsdam Sandstone Resources Taken from Raquette River Quarries MPS
  • Town. Potsdam town
  • Architectural style. Federal architecture
  • National Register reference number. 03000028 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1908 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 86 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Jonathan Wallace House, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Jonathan Wallace House, surveyed 1908

Fires near this property

145 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 145 fires within 5 miles of Jonathan Wallace House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 251 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined89
Arson/incendiarism19
Equipment and vehicle use13
Debris and open burning12
Natural8
Smoking4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 September 2017Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
27 September 2017Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
27 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
23 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
23 September 2007Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
21 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
2 September 2017Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Jonathan Wallace House: 8 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Clarkson QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast ProducerSurface
Potsdam Red Sandstone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Potsdam Sandstone Co. QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast ProducerSurface
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Bicknell Brothers S & G PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Unnamed Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

27 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Potsdam, the town this property stands in, in 27 storm reports between 1998 and 2025: 21 thunderstorm wind, 4 hail, 1 funnel cloud, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2012Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$100,000Multiple trees down and snapped and power lines down across Potsdam with structural damage to 4 buildings forcing dozens of evacuations.
August 2015Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$50,000A partial torn roof (40%), mainly metal shingles and some membrane was torn off a SUNY Potsdam housing apartment on Main street.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$50,000Numerous trees and power lines down throughout Potsdam, including State Route 11 and County routes 58 and 24 were impassable.
July 2010Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$50,000Numerous trees and power lines reported down in Potsdam as well as neighboring communities. Some isolated structural damage from fallen trees reported as well.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$35,000Temporary walls of School gymnasium, fences and port-o-potties were damaged or destroyed. Other tree damage was reported in several adjacent neighborhoods.
July 2017Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Numerous trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2013Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Several trees down on several roads throughout Potsdam.
June 2011Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Numerous reports of trees down through Potsdam.
July 2011Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Trees and power lines down throughout Potsdam.
July 2010HailPotsdam$25,000Estimated Golf ball size hail reported, as well as numerous reports of large hail ranging from nickel, quarter and half dollar size throughout Potsdam and immediate vicinity.
June 2008Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Measured 58 mph wind gust from AWOS. Also numerous reports of fallen trees and power lines.
August 2008Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$25,000Several reports of trees and power lines down by thunderstorm winds in Potsdam.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$20,000Numerous trees and utility lines downed by thunderstorm winds.
November 2005Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$20,000no account filed
July 2007Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$15,000Numerous trees and wires down throughout Potsdam.
July 1998Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$15,000no account filed
July 2016Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$10,000Several trees downed by thunderstorm winds in Potsdam.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$10,000Several power lines and tree branches down across Potsdam.
March 2020Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$5,000Convective winds downed several trees and power lines.
July 2025Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$2,000Tree down on power lines in Haggerty road along with other limb and branch damage in the vicinity.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$2,000Tree, branches and utility lines downed by thunderstorm winds.
August 2017LightningPotsdam$1,000Lightning started a tree fire in Potsdam.
June 2002Thunderstorm WindPotsdam$1,000no account filed
July 2019HailPotsdam-Quarter size diameter hail was reported.
May 2018HailPotsdam-Half dollar sized hail reported.
July 2012HailPotsdam-Nickel size hail reported.
July 2004Funnel CloudPotsdam-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

10 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Market Street Historic District0.1 miles1979
US Post Office-Potsdam0.2 miles1989
Potsdam Civic Center Complex0.3 miles2016
Watkins-Sisson House0.3 miles2013
Clarkson Office Building0.3 miles2004
Clarkson-Knowles Cottage0.3 miles1995

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 03000028 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.