BlockBefore

Edwards Town Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. 8 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2004 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 161 Main St., Edwards, 13635
  • When was it listed? July 2004
  • Category. building
  • Town. Edwards town
  • National Register reference number. 04000752 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1915 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 33 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Edwards Town Hall, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering Edwards Town Hall, surveyed 1915

Fires near this property

64 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Edwards Town Hall between 1992 and 2020, burning about 172 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined42
Arson/incendiarism6
Natural6
Recreation and ceremony5
Debris and open burning3
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 September 2002Power generation/transmission/distribution7.0 acresNew York Forest RangersEDWARDS FIRE
7 September 2002Naturalunder an acreNew York Forest RangersEDWARDS 1
25 September 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 August 2019Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreNew York Forest RangersWOLF LAKE LEAN-TO
23 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
20 August 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
18 August 2006Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreNew York Forest Rangersnot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 26 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 26 workings within 5 miles of Edwards Town Hall: 17 past producers, 5 occurrences, 2 producers, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Talc-Soapstone, Zinc, Iron, Mercury, Silver, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Balmat - Edwards DistrictZinc, Mercury, Silver, LeadProducer1838, 1915, 2008
Barraford PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Edwards MineZinc, Cadmium, Sulfur-Pyrite, Lead, Iron, Barium-Barite, CopperPast Producer1903, 1915, 1980
Hyatt MineZinc, LeadPast Producer1917, 1918
Pleasant Valley School MineSulfurPast Producer
Webb Zinc DepositLead, Sulfur-Pyrite, ZincOccurrenceStratabound
Anthony MineIronOccurrence
South Edward OccurrenceIronOccurrenceIlmenite
South Edwards Ilmenite-MagnetiteIronProspect
Mc Gill OccurrenceZincOccurrenceStratabound

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

9 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Edwards, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1995 and 2024: 4 thunderstorm wind, 4 hail, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2004LightningEdwards$10,000Lightning strike resulted in a fire with minor damage to a house.
March 2020Thunderstorm WindEdwards$5,000Convective winds downed several trees and power lines.
September 2005Thunderstorm WindEdwards$5,000no account filed
July 1995Thunderstorm WindEdwards$4,000Slow moving severe thunderstorms with very heavy rain moved across the Capital District, the Saratoga Region, the Mid-Hudson valley and over the Saint Lawrence Valley. Flash flooding occurred in Saratoga County in the vicinity of Lake Nancy as Joby Creek, Cadman Creek and Alder Creek went out of their banks. In addition the lake level at Lake Nancy rose over a foot. Large hail occurred in Saratoga County near Middle Grove. Damaging thunderstorm winds downed trees and power lines.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindEdwards$2,000Downed tree or two due to thunderstorm winds.
May 2005HailEdwards$1,000no account filed
July 2012HailEdwards-One inch diameter hail reported via SHAVE experiment.
July 2012HailEdwards-One inch diameter hail reported via SHAVE experiment.
May 2000HailEdwards-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

8 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Fine Town Hall7.7 miles1996

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04000752 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.