BlockBefore
Photograph of John and Mary Dickson House
Photograph by DanielPenfield, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John and Mary Dickson House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2008. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1901.

From the record

“John and Mary Dickson House is a historic home located at West Bloomfield in Ontario County, New York. It is an L-shaped, heavy timer-framed dwelling built about 1835 in a late Federal / early Greek Revival style.”

Wikipedia article John and Mary Dickson House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 78 National Register listings published here for Ontario County · listed in 2008 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Dickson, John and Mary, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 9010 Main St., West Bloomfield, 14469
  • When was it listed? November 2008
  • Category. building
  • Town. West Bloomfield town
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 08001077 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

88 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 88 fires within 5 miles of John and Mary Dickson House between 2000 and 2019, burning about 126 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 25 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined33
Arson/incendiarism25
Debris and open burning17
Natural6
Smoking3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
29 September 2010Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
2 September 2012Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
18 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 August 2001Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
4 August 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 July 2016Recreation and ceremony5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
5 July 2017Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in Ontario County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 16 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of John and Mary Dickson House: 8 past producers, 8 producers. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Salt, Natural Gas, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Callister No.1 WellSalt, Natural GasPast Producer
General Crushed Stone CompanyStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Rochester QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Abbey No.1 WellSaltPast Producer
D.Curran No.1 WellSaltPast Producer
Bloomfield PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Bloomfield Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Connors Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Connors Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
East Bloomfield PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Ontario County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 08001077 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ontario CountyAll 78 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.