From the record
One of 39 National Register listings published here for Cattaraugus County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2021. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1923.
One of 39 National Register listings published here for Cattaraugus County · listed in 2021 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 93 fires within 5 miles of Kimble-Nellé House between 2000 and 2019, burning about 56 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 55 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Natural | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Smoking | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 September 2005 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 11 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | New York Forest Rangers | SOUTH BRANCH FIRE |
| 3 August 2018 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 3 August 2016 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 27 August 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 25 August 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 14 August 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 1 August 2008 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Kimble-Nellé House: 2 producers, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gernatt Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Gernatt Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Vogtlis Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Gowanda, the town this property stands in, in 21 storm reports between 1998 and 2026: 11 thunderstorm wind, 6 flash flood, 3 flood, 1 hail. The reports record 1 death and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2009 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | 1 killed, 1 hurt, $45,000,000 | no account filed |
| May 2014 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | $5,000,000 | no account filed |
| June 1998 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | $2,500,000 | no account filed |
| July 2015 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | $750,000 | no account filed |
| June 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $25,000 | no account filed |
| July 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $25,000 | no account filed |
| January 2017 | Flood | Gowanda | $20,000 | Cattaraugus Creek at Gowanda crested at 10.70' at 6:00 PM EST on January 12. Flood stage is 10 feet. |
| December 2013 | Flood | Gowanda | $20,000 | Cattaraugus Creek at Gowanda crested at 11.54 feet at 17:00 EST on 12/21/2013. Flood Stage is 10 feet. |
| July 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $15,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires down. |
| January 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $12,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and power lines down. |
| July 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $10,000 | Multiple reports of trees down around Gowanda. |
| October 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| November 2017 | Flood | Gowanda | $10,000 | Cattaraugus Creek at Gowanda crested at 11.0 feet at 12:30 AM on the 6th (Flood Stage is 10 feet). |
| September 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $10,000 | Law enforcement reported trees downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| July 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $5,000 | A tree was downed on a house and car. |
| May 2000 | Hail | Gowanda | $5,000 | no account filed |
| July 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $1,000 | Trees and wires were reported down. |
| July 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | $500 | A tree was downed across Broadway Road. |
| March 2026 | Thunderstorm Wind | Gowanda | - | Report from Facebook of tree falling on a house. |
| June 2025 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | - | Report of numerous streets in Gowanda with flooding, including Route 39. |
| September 2022 | Flash Flood | Gowanda | - | Flooding was reported on Route 39. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Hollywood Theater | 0.1 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Gowanda Village Historic District | 0.1 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Bank of Gowanda | 0.2 miles | 2001 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100006643 in Record Group 79. |
| Cattaraugus County | All 39 listed properties in this county. |