BlockBefore

T.O. Castle and Son General Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023. 7 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.

From the record

One of 30 National Register listings published here for Orleans County · listed in 2023 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 12348 Maple Ridge Rd., Millville, 14103
  • When was it listed? January 2023
  • Category. building
  • Town. Shelby town
  • National Register reference number. 100008604 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

91 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 91 fires within 5 miles of T.O. Castle and Son General Store between 2000 and 2020, burning about 61 acres in total. 13 started naturally. 17 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined39
Arson/incendiarism17
Natural13
Smoking9
Debris and open burning6
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Equipment and vehicle use2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
6 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
30 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
30 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
21 September 2003Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Orleans County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of T.O. Castle and Son General Store: 2 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Gravel Pit No 5Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Gravel Pit No 6Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Orleans County

Maps showing this location

7 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Millville Cemetery1.2 miles2007
Main Street Historic District3.2 miles1995
US Post Office-Medina3.3 miles1989
Main Street Historic District Boundary Increase3.3 miles1997
Payjack Chevrolet Building3.4 miles2012
Medina Armory3.5 miles1995

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100008604 in Record Group 79.
Orleans CountyAll 30 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.