BlockBefore

Schoellkopf Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1894.

From the record

One of 99 National Register listings published here for Niagara County · listed in 2023 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 2900 Lewistown Rd., Niagara Falls, 14305
  • When was it listed? March 2023
  • Category. building
  • City. Niagara Falls city
  • National Register reference number. 100008744 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Then and now

1894 to 1995

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 101 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Schoellkopf Hall, surveyed 1995
Topographic sheet covering Schoellkopf Hall, surveyed 1894

Fires near this property

661 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 661 fires within 5 miles of Schoellkopf Hall between 2000 and 2020, burning about 337 acres in total. 76 started naturally. 88 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined334
Arson/incendiarism88
Natural76
Smoking51
Equipment and vehicle use45
Debris and open burning33
Railroad operations and maintenance19
Misuse of fire by a minor8
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Other causes1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2020Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
6 September 2015Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
6 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Niagara County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Schoellkopf Hall: 4 unknowns, 3 producers, 1 past producer. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Graphite, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zirconium, Chromium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lead Industries/Niagara Falls, N.Y.ZirconiumUnknown
Newark PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Niagara Falls QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Niagara St0ne QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
SKW Alloys/ Niagara Falls, N.Y.Iron, Manganese, GraphiteProducer
Special Abrasives/Niagara Falls, NyAbrasiveUnknown
Union Carbide/ Niagara Falls, N.Y.Chromium, GraphiteUnknown
Great Lakes Carbon/Niagara Falls NyGraphiteUnknown

Every working recorded in Niagara County

Storms near this property

20 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Niagara Falls, the town this property stands in, in 20 storm reports between 1995 and 2007: 8 hail, 6 thunderstorm wind, 3 flash flood, 2 lightning. The reports record 4 injuries. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2000LightningNiagara Falls4 hurtno account filed
January 1998Flash FloodNiagara Falls$1,000,000no account filed
April 2004HailNiagara Falls$500,000no account filed
November 1999Flash FloodNiagara Falls$500,000no account filed
September 1998HailNiagara Falls$500,000no account filed
August 2001LightningNiagara Falls$200,000no account filed
July 2000Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$35,000no account filed
October 1999Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$25,000no account filed
May 1998HailNiagara Falls$25,000no account filed
May 2004Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$20,000no account filed
June 2007Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$15,000no account filed
September 1997Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$10,000no account filed
August 2007HailNiagara Falls$8,000no account filed
September 2002HailNiagara Falls$5,000no account filed
June 2002HailNiagara Falls$5,000no account filed
June 2002HailNiagara Falls$5,000no account filed
July 2000HailNiagara Falls$5,000no account filed
June 1995Thunderstorm WindNiagara Falls$5,000no account filed
January 1998Flash FloodNiagara Falls$1,000no account filed
July 2003Funnel CloudNiagara Falls-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Niagara County

Maps showing this location

12 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100008744 in Record Group 79.
Niagara CountyAll 99 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.