From the record
One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023. 13 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1895.
One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 99 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1,210 fires within 5 miles of Oak Hill Country Club between 2000 and 2020, burning about 726 acres in total. 91 started naturally. 107 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 553 |
| Smoking | 316 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 107 |
| Natural | 91 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 53 |
| Debris and open burning | 50 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 20 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 13 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 7 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2002 | Smoking | 2.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 8 September 2018 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 8 September 2016 | Natural | 5.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 8 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 8 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 8 September 2007 | Smoking | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Oak Hill Country Club: 4 producers, 3 past producers, 1 unknown, 1 plant. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silver, Aluminum, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard & Bowen Corp/Rochester, N.Y. | Silver | Unknown | ||
| Penfield Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Rochester Smelt & Ref/Rochester, Ny | Aluminum | Plant | ||
| Mendon Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Mendon Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Pittsford Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Pittsford Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Redman Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Redman Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Pittsford, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 1995 and 2025: 8 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 flash flood, 1 lightning. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2007 | Lightning | Pittsford | 1 hurt | no account filed |
| September 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $1,200,000 | no account filed |
| July 1998 | Flash Flood | Pittsford | $150,000 | no account filed |
| June 2015 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $20,000 | Law enforcement reported numerous trees and wires down from thunderstorm winds near Pittsford. A power transformer was damage near South Main Street and Mile Post Lane. |
| August 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $15,000 | Law enforcement reported trees and wires down. |
| June 2008 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $15,000 | no account filed |
| July 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $10,000 | Law enforcement received multiple reports of trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| June 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $6,000 | no account filed |
| July 2004 | Hail | Pittsford | $5,000 | no account filed |
| July 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $1,500 | Tree and wires downed. |
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Pittsford | $1,000 | A tree was reported down onto power lines near Jefferson and Eastview Terrance. |
| November 2025 | Hail | Pittsford | - | Time estimated by radar. |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Spring House | 0.6 miles | 1975 |
![]() | Alcoa Care-free Home | 1.3 miles | 2010 |
![]() | Hildreth-Lord-Hawley Farm | 1.6 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Adolph Lomb House | 1.6 miles | 1995 |
![]() | Pittsford Village Historic District (Boundary Increase) | 1.7 miles | 2016 |
![]() | Phoenix Building | 1.7 miles | 1974 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100008862 in Record Group 79. |
| Monroe County | All 233 listed properties in this county. |