From the record
One of 187 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024. 13 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1906.
One of 187 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 455 fires within 5 miles of Sugar Loaf Historic District between 1993 and 2020, burning about 354 acres in total. 10 started naturally. 78 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 194 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 78 |
| Debris and open burning | 58 |
| Smoking | 55 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 25 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 18 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 11 |
| Natural | 10 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 8 September 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 7 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 6 September 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.3 acres | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 6 September 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 6 September 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.5 acres | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 5 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 5 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Sugar Loaf Historic District: 5 past producers, 3 producers. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clove Mine | Iron | Past Producer | ||
| Mombasha Mine/O'Neill/Forshee/Clove Mines | Iron | Past Producer | Magnetite | |
| Chester Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Chester Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Chester Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Chester Pit and Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Kakargo Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Trout Brook Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Fury Brook Farm | 0.6 miles | 2004 |
![]() | Yelverton Inn and Store | 2.6 miles | 1980 |
![]() | First Presbyterian Church of Chester | 2.7 miles | 1998 |
| Mortimer L. Mapes House & Seward Homestead | 3.8 miles | 2011 | |
![]() | Randel, Culver House and Mill | 3.8 miles | 1998 |
| William Henry Seward Memorial | 3.8 miles | 1999 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100010981 in Record Group 79. |
| Orange County | All 187 listed properties in this county. |