From the record
One of 66 National Register listings published here for Broome County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025. 10 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1904.
One of 66 National Register listings published here for Broome County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 687 fires within 5 miles of Johnson City High School between 1993 and 2020, burning about 439 acres in total. 32 started naturally. 67 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 330 |
| Smoking | 89 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 67 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 67 |
| Debris and open burning | 34 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 34 |
| Natural | 32 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 20 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8 |
| Other causes | 3 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 3 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 9 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 8 September 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 7 September 2017 | Smoking | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 7 September 2016 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.3 acres | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 7 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 7 September 2010 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Johnson City High School: 4 past producers, 2 prospects, 2 producers, 1 plant. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Salt, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binghampton Brick Co. Pit | Clay | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Binghampton Brick Co. Pit | Clay | Plant | ||
| Brown No.1 Well | Salt | Prospect | ||
| Chase-Troy Chem.Co.No.1 Well | Salt | Prospect | ||
| Barney and Dick Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Barney and Dick Pit and Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Boland Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Murphy Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Murphy Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Johnson City, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 2000 and 2025: 5 thunderstorm wind, 3 hail, 3 flash flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2021 | Flash Flood | Johnson City | $30,000 | A culvert washout with road damage was reported on Leigh Street. |
| May 2004 | Lightning | Johnson City | $10,000 | Lightning struck a power line running between two substations. Nearly 5,900 customers lost power for close to 2 hours. |
| March 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Johnson City | $5,000 | Strong thunderstorm winds knocked down multiple trees. |
| May 2015 | Flash Flood | Johnson City | $2,000 | Water, along with mud and rocks washed over Deyo Hill road near the Town of Dickinson line. |
| July 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Johnson City | $1,000 | Strong thunderstorm winds snapped a large tree near Harry L Drive and Virginia Avenue. |
| August 2009 | Flash Flood | Johnson City | $1,000 | Glenwood Road was closed due to flooding, with a couple of feet of water covering the road. |
| December 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Johnson City | - | A wind gust was measured at 66 mph at WBNG TV.| |
| April 2005 | Hail | Johnson City | - | Law enforcement officials reported dime to nickle size hail with a thunderstorm. |
| May 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Johnson City | - | Thunderstorm winds brought down power lines and left 870 people without power. |
| June 2000 | Hail | Johnson City | - | Dime size hail was reported by a storm spotter in Johnson City. |
| July 2025 | Hail | Johnson City | - | no account filed |
| August 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Johnson City | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | US Post Office-Johnson City | 0.3 miles | 1989 |
![]() | Goodwill Theatre | 0.5 miles | 2000 |
![]() | Johnson City Historic District | 0.5 miles | 2011 |
![]() | C. Fred Johnson Park Carousel | 0.7 miles | 1992 |
![]() | Your Home Library | 0.8 miles | 2005 |
![]() | Endicott Square Deal Arch | 1.0 miles | 2001 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100012401 in Record Group 79. |
| Broome County | All 66 listed properties in this county. |