BlockBefore
Photograph of Haxton-Griffin Farm
Photograph by RobertDrake2015, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Haxton-Griffin Farm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2012. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1893.

From the record

One of 101 National Register listings published here for Greene County · listed in 2012 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Haxton--Griffin Farm - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 84 Howard Hall Rd., Athens, 12414
  • When was it listed? January 2012
  • Category. building
  • Town. Athens town
  • National Register reference number. 11000999 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

250 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 250 fires within 5 miles of Haxton-Griffin Farm between 1992 and 2020, burning about 270 acres in total. 19 started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined131
Debris and open burning36
Smoking21
Arson/incendiarism20
Natural19
Equipment and vehicle use12
Railroad operations and maintenance5
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
6 September 2010Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
30 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
29 September 2020Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
26 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 September 2017Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
21 September 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in Greene County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 26 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 26 workings within 5 miles of Haxton-Griffin Farm: 12 producers, 12 past producers, 2 occurrences. 12 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, General, Clay, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
South Potic Mountain Blue Ss QuarryFlagstonePast Producer
Austin's Glen DepositQuartzOccurrence
Diamond Hill DepositQuartzOccurrence
Fabiano PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Kearny PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Plass Hill Carbonate Iron MineIron, SulfurProducerCalcite, Pyrite, Quartz, Siderite
Plass Hill Carbonate Iron MineIron, SulfurPast Producer
Plass HillIronPast ProducerResidual
Catskill Limestone QuarryLimestone, GeneralProducerLimestone
Catskill QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Greene County

Storms near this property

12 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Athens, the town this property stands in, in 12 storm reports between 2001 and 2023: 5 thunderstorm wind, 2 lightning, 2 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2001LightningAthens$100,000no account filed
June 2001LightningAthens$50,000no account filed
August 2003Flash FloodAthens$25,000no account filed
April 2002Thunderstorm WindAthens$15,000no account filed
July 2003Tornado (F1)Athens$10,000no account filed
December 2023FloodWest Athens$3,000County Route 74 was closed in the Town of Athens due to flooding.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindAthens$3,000Trees were downed in the Town of Athens. This occurred along an outflow boundary ahead of thunderstorms.
August 2019Thunderstorm WindAthens-Route 385 North and Southbound were closed due to downed wires.
June 2015Thunderstorm WindAthens-Trees and wires were reported down in Athens due to thunderstorm winds.
June 2013HailAthens-Half dollar size hail was reported during a thunderstorm in Athens.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindAthens-Multiple trees were reported down due to thunderstorm winds in Athens.
August 2008HailAthens-Penny size hail was reported at Sleepy Hollow Lake near Athens during a thunderstorm.

Every storm recorded in Greene County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
William Brandow House0.5 miles2009
Rushmore Farm0.9 miles2010
Moore-Howland Estate1.2 miles2010
Athens Lower Village Historic District1.5 miles1980
Albertus Van Loon House1.9 miles1980
Zion Lutheran Church1.9 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 11000999 in Record Group 79.
Greene CountyAll 101 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.