BlockBefore
Photograph of Hopkinton Green Historic District
Photograph by Doug Kerr, CC BY-SA 2.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Hopkinton Green Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2014. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1919.

From the record

“Hopkinton Green Historic District is a national historic district located at Hopkinton, St. The district encompasses two contributing buildings and one contributing site in the town of Hopkinton.”

Wikipedia article Hopkinton Green Historic District, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2014 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss, 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Bounded by NY 11B, Cnty. Rd. 49 & Church St., Hopkinton, 12965
  • When was it listed? September 2014
  • Category. district
  • Town. Hopkinton town
  • National Register reference number. 14000583 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Then and now

1919 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 75 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Hopkinton Green Historic District, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Hopkinton Green Historic District, surveyed 1919

Fires near this property

64 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Hopkinton Green Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 80 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined42
Debris and open burning9
Arson/incendiarism7
Smoking3
Natural3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
10 September 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreNew York Forest RangersLAWRENCE
9 August 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
4 August 2016Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
30 August 2014Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
21 July 2020Debris and open burning1.4 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
18 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
11 July 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
5 June 2016Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Hopkinton Green Historic District: 1 past producer, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Mott Pit and PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Town of HopkintonSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 14000583 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.