From the record
One of 91 National Register listings published here for Bronx County · listed in 2016 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016. 15 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1891.
One of 91 National Register listings published here for Bronx County · listed in 2016 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 107 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2,564 fires within 5 miles of Fort Independence Historic District between 2000 and 2020, burning about 839 acres in total. 151 started naturally. 142 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1798 |
| Smoking | 159 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 158 |
| Natural | 151 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 142 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 60 |
| Debris and open burning | 57 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 21 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 9 |
| Other causes | 5 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 4 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2016 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 9 September 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 9 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Fort Independence Historic District: 5 occurrences, 1 past producer, 1 plant. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Titanium, Garnet, Zirconium, Beryllium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| (Facility) Laurel Hill Refinery | Copper, Gold, Nickel, Silver, Tellurium, Selenium, Palladium, Platinum | Plant | ||
| 155th St & 10th Ave Garnet Deposit | Garnet, Zirconium | Occurrence | ||
| 159th St & 11th Ave Beryl Deposit | Beryllium | Occurrence | ||
| 176/178 Sts & 11th Ave Deposit | Titanium, Garnet, Gemstone | Occurrence | ||
| 200th St & 10th Ave Kyanite Deposit | Kyanite | Occurrence | ||
| Star Sand and Gravel Inc. Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| 180th St & 10th Ave Rutile Deposit | Titanium | Occurrence |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Jerome Park Reservoir | 0.4 miles | 2000 |
![]() | 242nd Street-Van Cortlandt Park Station (IRT) | 0.5 miles | 2005 |
| Concourse Yard Entry Buildings | 0.6 miles | 2006 | |
![]() | High Pumping Station | 0.6 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Concourse Yard Substation | 0.6 miles | 2006 |
![]() | St. Stephen's Methodist Church | 0.7 miles | 2012 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 16000551 in Record Group 79. |
| Bronx County | All 91 listed properties in this county. |