BlockBefore
Photograph of H. D. Champlin & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking
Photograph by Daniel Case, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Champlin, H. D., & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982. 17 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1892.

From the record

“Champlin & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking shop building is located on Main Street in Nelsonville, New York, United States. It is a typical commercial structure for a common business of the late 19th century that survives in good condition.”

Wikipedia article H. D. Champlin & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 49 National Register listings published here for Putnam County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 286 Main St., Nelsonville, 10516
  • When was it listed? November 1982
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Hudson Highlands MRA
  • Town. Philipstown town
  • National Register reference number. 82001234 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

321 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 321 fires within 5 miles of Champlin, H. D., & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking between 1994 and 2020, burning about 851 acres in total. 36 started naturally. 39 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined172
Arson/incendiarism39
Natural36
Debris and open burning20
Smoking18
Recreation and ceremony16
Equipment and vehicle use8
Power generation/transmission/distribution8
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Misuse of fire by a minor2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2016Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2016Recreation and ceremony3.8 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2018Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
6 September 2016Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
6 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.5 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Putnam County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 43 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 43 workings within 5 miles of Champlin, H. D., & Son Horseshoeing and Wagonmaking: 34 past producers, 5 occurrences, 3 producers, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Iron, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Titanium, Metal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bog Meadow Pond DepositZirconiumOccurrence
Constitution Island OccurrenceMolybdenumOccurrence
Denny MineTitanium, IronProspect
Hustis QuarryTitaniumOccurrence
Probably Serpentine Marble Rock Quarry No. Hk-022Stone, DimensionPast ProducerMarble
Clay Pit No. Hk-020ClayPast ProducerClay
Clay Pit No. Hk-020ClayPast Producer
Graphite Mine No. Hk-019GraphitePast ProducerGraphite
Graphite Mine No. Hk-019GraphitePast Producer
Canopus MineIron, TitaniumPast Producer1912

Every working recorded in Putnam County

Storms near this property

5 since 2008

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Nelsonville, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 2008 and 2023: 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2008Thunderstorm WindNelsonville$5,000Numerous trees and power lines were reported down in Fishkill.
August 2021Thunderstorm WindNelsonville$3,000Police Department reports wires down near Maple Terrace and Ceder Street.
July 2009Thunderstorm WindNelsonville$3,000Three trees were down at the intersection of State route 301 and Glynwood Road in Fahnestock State Park.
December 2023Flash FloodNelsonville-Flooding on NY 9D both directions near Fair Street. All lanes closed.
June 2011HailNelsonville-Penny-size hail was reported in Cold Springs.

Every storm recorded in Putnam County

Maps showing this location

17 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
J. Y. Dykman Flour and Feed Storeunder 500 feet1982
Fish and Fur Club0.1 miles1982
J. Y. Dykman Store0.1 miles1982
House at 249 Main Street0.2 miles1989
House at 3 Crown Street0.2 miles1982
First Baptist Church of Cold Spring0.2 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82001234 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Putnam CountyAll 49 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.