BlockBefore
Photograph of Stone-Tolan House
Photograph by DanielPenfield, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Stone-Tolan House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1895.

From the record

One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 1983 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss, 2 structuress, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 2370 E. Ave., Brighton, 14610
  • When was it listed? July 1983
  • Category. building
  • Town. Brighton town
  • Architectural style. Federal architecture
  • National Register reference number. 83001710 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

1,906 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 1,906 fires within 5 miles of Stone-Tolan House between 2000 and 2020, burning about 1,277 acres in total. 148 started naturally. 182 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined858
Smoking478
Arson/incendiarism182
Natural148
Equipment and vehicle use90
Debris and open burning83
Power generation/transmission/distribution27
Misuse of fire by a minor27
Recreation and ceremony9
Railroad operations and maintenance4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Smoking2.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 September 2018Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2018Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2016Natural5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2016Smoking6.3 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2016Smoking6.3 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in Monroe County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Stone-Tolan House: 3 past producers, 3 producers, 1 unknown, 1 plant. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silver, Aluminum, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Howard & Bowen Corp/Rochester, N.Y.SilverUnknown
Penfield QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Rochester Smelt & Ref/Rochester, NyAluminumPlant
Mendon PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Mendon PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Pittsford PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Redman PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Redman PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary

Every working recorded in Monroe County

Storms near this property

15 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Brighton, the town this property stands in, in 15 storm reports between 1997 and 2021: 6 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 3 flash flood, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2011Flash FloodBrighton$25,000no account filed
August 2016Thunderstorm WindBrighton$15,000Law enforcement reported wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
June 2014Thunderstorm WindBrighton$15,000Law enforcement reported wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2013FloodBrighton$15,000no account filed
August 2004Thunderstorm WindBrighton$15,000no account filed
June 1998Flash FloodBrighton$13,000no account filed
June 2017Thunderstorm WindBrighton$12,000Social media had reported of trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindBrighton$10,000The media relayed reports of trees and wires down.
February 1997Flash FloodBrighton$4,000no account filed
April 2008HailBrighton$2,000no account filed
August 2021Thunderstorm WindBrighton$500A tree was downed onto Poplar Street.
June 2016HailBrighton-no account filed
June 2016HailBrighton-no account filed
June 2013HailBrighton-no account filed
July 2013HailBrighton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Monroe County

Maps showing this location

12 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
First Unitarian Church0.7 miles2014
Alcoa Care-free Home0.9 miles2010
Browncroft Historic District1.0 miles2004
G.W. Todd-Wilmot Castle Company Building1.6 miles2018
Daisy Flour Mill, Inc.1.6 miles1972
Immanuel Baptist Church1.7 miles2002

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 83001710 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Monroe CountyAll 233 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.