BlockBefore

Judge John Fine House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1904.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 1986 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Fine, Judge John, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 422 State St., Ogdenburg, 13669
  • When was it listed? January 1986
  • Category. building
  • City. Ogdensburg city
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 86000012 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1904 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 44 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Judge John Fine House, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering Judge John Fine House, surveyed 1904

Fires near this property

68 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 68 fires within 5 miles of Judge John Fine House between 2001 and 2020, burning about 36 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined34
Arson/incendiarism24
Natural4
Smoking3
Debris and open burning2
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
18 September 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
5 August 2016Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
31 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
22 August 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
20 August 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
12 August 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
10 August 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
4 July 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Judge John Fine House: 7 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Dolomite, Limestone, Dimension, Limestone, General. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ogdensburg QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Howard's QuarryDolomitePast Producer
Howard's QuarryDolomitePast Producer
Mc Conville Inc. QuarryDolomitePast Producer1885
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Ogdenburg Stone and Asphalt, Inc.Stone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Ogdensburg QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Acker and Evans Law Officeunder 500 feet1983
First Baptist Church of Ogdensburg Complex0.2 miles2018
Remington Art Museum0.2 miles1982
Ogdensburg Armory0.2 miles1995
Oswegatchie Pumping Station0.3 miles1990
U.S. Customshouse0.3 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86000012 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.