BlockBefore

Black and White Farm Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1905.

From the record

“Black and White Farm Barn is a historic barn located near Sonyea in Livingston County, New York. It is a large two story wood-frame building built in 1884 on a 600-acre (2.4 km2) farm.”

Wikipedia article Black and White Farm Barn, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 92 National Register listings published here for Livingston County · listed in 1988 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 7420 Dansville--Mt. Morris Rd., NY 36, Sonyea, 14437
  • When was it listed? February 1988
  • Category. building
  • Town. Groveland town
  • National Register reference number. 88000031 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

114 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 114 fires within 5 miles of Black and White Farm Barn between 2002 and 2020, burning about 97 acres in total. 11 started naturally. 15 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined67
Arson/incendiarism15
Natural11
Debris and open burning6
Smoking5
Other causes4
Recreation and ceremony3
Equipment and vehicle use3

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
29 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
27 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
26 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.3 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
23 September 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
18 September 2014Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
11 September 2010Other causesunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
11 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Livingston County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Black and White Farm Barn: 2 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Chester L. Mcmaster S & G PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Chester L. Mcmaster S & G PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kennedy PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Livingston County

Storms near this property

1 since 2019

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Sonyea, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2019: 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2019FloodSonyea$1,000Route 36 was closed by high water between Ridge Road and Cleveland Road.

Every storm recorded in Livingston County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 88000031 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Livingston CountyAll 92 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.