BlockBefore

Russell Town Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. 8 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.

From the record

“Russell Town Hall is a historic town hall building located at Russell in St. It was built in 1921 and is a three-story Classical Revival style structure.”

Wikipedia article Russell Town Hall, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 1996 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Jct. of Main and Mill Sts., NW corner, Russell, 13684
  • When was it listed? January 1996
  • Category. building
  • Town. Russell town
  • Architectural style. Neoclassical architecture
  • National Register reference number. 95001492 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1915 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 33 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Russell Town Hall, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering Russell Town Hall, surveyed 1915

Fires near this property

64 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Russell Town Hall between 1993 and 2020, burning about 46 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined43
Arson/incendiarism10
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking3
Recreation and ceremony2
Debris and open burning2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 2007Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
20 September 2015Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
14 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
31 August 1993Recreation and ceremony1.0 acresNew York Forest Rangersnot named
30 August 2017Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
28 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
26 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
23 August 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Russell Town Hall: 3 prospects, 3 occurrences, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Molybdenum, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
RussellMolybdenum, CopperOccurrenceContact Metamorphic
Devils ElbowIronOccurrenceSurface
Devils Elbow DepositIronProspect
Lowden MineIronPast Producer
Walker FarmIronOccurrence
Walker Farm DepositIronProspect1870
Wier ProspectIronProspect

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

9 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Russell, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 2007 and 2018: 8 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2008Thunderstorm WindRussell$50,000Numerous and widespread reports of large trees downed on power lines and houses.
July 2007Thunderstorm WindRussell$35,000Numerous large trees downed by thunderstorm winds, including damage to several campers and pavilion.
May 2017Thunderstorm WindRussell$30,000Numerous trees and power lines down in various locations in southern St. Lawrence county, including Russell.
June 2007Thunderstorm WindRussell$25,000Dozens of trees were blown down. Some trees fell and damaged a pavilion at the Lazy River Road playground.
May 2018Thunderstorm WindRussell$10,000A few trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2017Thunderstorm WindRussell$10,000Numerous trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindRussell$10,000Several trees down.
July 2017Flash FloodRussell$5,000Water was flowing over Pestle Street Rd.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindRussell$5,000Several large tree branches and smaller trees downed by thunderstorm winds.

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

8 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Clare Town Hall4.7 miles2004

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 95001492 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.