BlockBefore
Photograph of Gates-Livermore Cobblestone Farmhouse
Photograph by Ammodramus, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Gates-Livermore Cobblestone

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1901.

From the record

“Gates-Livermore Cobblestone Farmhouse is a historic home located at Mendon in Monroe County, New York. It is a Federal style cobblestone farmhouse built about 1833.”

Wikipedia article Gates-Livermore Cobblestone Farmhouse, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 1996 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Gates--Livermore Cobblestone - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 4389 Clover St., Mendon, 14472
  • When was it listed? November 1996
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Cobblestone Architecture of New York State MPS
  • Town. Mendon town
  • Architectural style. Federal architecture
  • National Register reference number. 96001390 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

119 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 119 fires within 5 miles of Gates-Livermore Cobblestone between 2001 and 2019, burning about 106 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 31 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined54
Arson/incendiarism31
Debris and open burning16
Smoking5
Natural5
Recreation and ceremony3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
3 September 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
27 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
27 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
23 September 2011Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
22 September 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
18 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
12 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Monroe County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Gates-Livermore Cobblestone: 3 producers, 2 past producers, 1 prospect. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Salt, Limestone, General, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
General Crushed Stone CompanyStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Honeoye Falls WellSaltProspect
Rochester QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Highway Department PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Highway Department PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Saxby OperationSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Monroe County

Storms near this property

9 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Mendon, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1998 and 2024: 7 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2019Flash FloodMendon$40,000Several roads flooded in Mendon with cars under water.
September 2007Thunderstorm WindMendon$25,000no account filed
June 2005Thunderstorm WindMendon$20,000no account filed
June 2017Thunderstorm WindMendon$14,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
June 2015Thunderstorm WindMendon$10,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindMendon$10,000Law enforcement reported trees and wires down.
August 1998HailMendon$8,000no account filed
July 2024Thunderstorm WindMendon$2,000Multiple trees downed.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindMendon$1,000Powerlines downed on West Bloomfield Rd.

Every storm recorded in Monroe County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Adsit Cobblestone Farmhouse1.6 miles1996
Hiram Sibley Homestead2.3 miles1985
Lower Mill2.5 miles1973
Whitcomb Cobblestone Farmhouse2.6 miles1996
Miller-Horton-Barben Farm2.7 miles2015
St. John's Episcopal Church2.8 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96001390 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Monroe CountyAll 233 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.