Dayville, Oregon
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1932 and the latest in 1992. It stands in the John Day census division. It lies in ZIP code area 97825. It stands on South Fork John Day River. The Survey maps it on the Dayville quadrangle. 132 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 2,369 feet above sea level.
On record in Dayville
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 1 record
James Cant Ranch Historic Districtlisted 1984
Population over time
3 figuresDayville fell from 138 to 132 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 138 | |
| 2010 | 149 | +11 (+8%) |
| 2020 | 132 | -17 (-11%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1932 USGS Dayville quadrangle1:125000
- 1936 USGS Dayville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Canyon City quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1959 USGS Canyon City quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1972 USGS Dayville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1981 USGS Dayville quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1992 USGS Dayville quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
52 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 52 fires within 5 miles of Dayville between 1994 and 2019, burning about 3,179 acres in total. 33 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 33 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Other causes | 2 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Prineville District | 0791 |
| 3 September 2007 | Natural | 2.2 acres | Prineville District | 0844 SMOKEY CREEK |
| 14 September 1996 | Other causes | 2.0 acres | John Day Unit | JOHN DAY RIVER |
| 9 August 2003 | Smoking | under an acre | John Day Unit | MILE POST 129 |
| 6 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Prineville District | MASCAL |
| 31 August 2007 | Natural | under an acre | Prineville District | 0809 |
| 30 August 2007 | Natural | 1.0 acres | John Day Unit | TABLE ROCK |
| 27 August 1999 | Natural | under an acre | John Day Unit | SMOKEY CREEK |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
8 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Dayville: 4 past producers, 2 occurrences, 1 unknown, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Chromium, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smokey Creek | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Smokey Creek Material Site | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| East Side | Chromium | Past Producer | ||
| Eastside | Chromium | Past Producer | Podiform | |
| Mascall | Chromium | Past Producer | ||
| O. R. Mascall Claims | Chromium | Occurrence | Podiform | |
| Oregon Chrome | Chromium | Occurrence | ||
| Oregon Chrome | Chromium | Unknown |
Storms near this place
4 since 2001Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayville in 4 storm reports between 2001 and 2015: 2 wildfire, 1 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2003 | Wildfire | Dayville | - | The Frog Hollow fire was started by lightning and burned 752 acres. The cost of fighting this fire totaled 1.5 million dollars. |
| July 2002 | Wildfire | Dayville | - | The 747 Fire was sparked by lightning and consumed 16,856 acres. The fire was not controlled until August 1st. |
| June 2001 | Flash Flood | Dayville | - | The Oregon Dept of Transportation reported flash flooding on State Highway 26. Between mile markers 126 and 127, water overflowed a creek next to the road and left debris on the pavement. |
| June 2015 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayville | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Three Forks | 13.7 miles | 15 | |
| Courtrock | 14.9 miles | 12 | |
| Kimberly | 20.9 miles | 11 | |
| Hamilton | 22.3 miles | 12 | |
| Mount Vernon | 22.6 miles | 14 | |
| Beech Creek | 23.0 miles | 13 | |
| Fox | 24.2 miles | 13 | |
| Monument | 25.0 miles | 12 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayville | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q3458889 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1140680. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






