BlockBefore
Photograph of Charles and Anna Drain House
Photograph by Visitor7, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Charles D. Drain Jr. House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.

From the record

“House, also known as the Charles and Anna Drain House, in Drain, Oregon, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Construction of the house was commissioned by Charles Douglas Drain, the youngest son of town founder Charles Drain.”

Wikipedia article Charles and Anna Drain House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 47 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 1978 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Drain, Charles D., Jr., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 100 E. Main St., Drain, 97435
  • When was it listed? December 1978
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Elkton-Drain
  • Architectural style. Queen Anne style architecture in the United States
  • National Register reference number. 78002286 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

81 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 81 fires within 5 miles of Charles D. Drain Jr. House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 234 acres in total. 4 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use31
Debris and open burning21
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Misuse of fire by a minor4
Natural4
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking3
Other causes1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2014Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRoseburg DistrictEAGLE VALLEY
8 September 2002Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreDouglas Forest Protective AssociationBREIER ROAD
7 September 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreDouglas Forest Protective AssociationHALO TRAIL
6 September 2007Equipment and vehicle use23 acresDouglas Forest Protective AssociationAPPLEGATE ROAD
5 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresDouglas Forest Protective AssociationJACK CREEK RD.
3 September 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersMP 48 HWY 38
3 September 2008Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreDouglas Forest Protective AssociationDRAIN SECTION ROAD
28 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreRoseburg DistrictHALO RIDGE

Every fire recorded in Douglas County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 14 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 14 workings within 5 miles of Charles D. Drain Jr. House: 8 past producers, 5 producers, 1 unknown. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bear Creek QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Johnny Creek PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Mcdougal QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenUnknown
Mt. Baldy QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Basalt QuarryStonePast Producer
Bear Creek QuarryStonePast Producer
Elk Valley QuarryStonePast Producer
Elk Valley QuarryStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Douglas County

Storms near this property

3 since 2012

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Drain, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2012 and 2025: 3 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2025FloodDrain-Elk Creek near Drain rose above minor flood stage of 16.0 ft. at 16/1040 PST, peaked in minor flood stage at 16/1900 PST at 19.58 ft. It then fell below flood stage at 17/0345 PST. At 18.0 feet, Widespread flooding of low lands and structures occurs.
April 2019FloodDrain-The river rose above minor flood stage (16.0 feet) at 08/1730 PST. The river crested at 16.44 feet at 08/1930 PST. The river fell below minor flood stage at 08/2130 PST.
January 2012FloodDrain-The Elk Creek gage near Drain crested at 15.55 feet at 19/1630 PST, below the flood stage of 16.00 feet. However, flooding was reported a few miles downstream from the gage, with damage to yards and fences.

Every storm recorded in Douglas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Charles Applegate House4.0 miles1975

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 78002286 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Douglas CountyAll 47 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.