BlockBefore
Photograph of Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station
Photograph by Finetooth, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1981.

From the record

“Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station was the westernmost station on the Sumpter Valley Railway, which ran 80 miles (130 km) from Baker City to Prairie City in the U.S. state of Oregon. The line reached Prairie City in 1910 but was abandoned in 1933, and the station became a private dwelling.”

Wikipedia article Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 9 National Register listings published here for Grant County · listed in 1981 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Main and Bridge Sts., Prairie City, 97869
  • When was it listed? May 1981
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Prairie City
  • National Register reference number. 81000483 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

20 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 20 fires within 5 miles of Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station between 1994 and 2019, burning about 34 acres in total. 11 started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural11
Arson/incendiarism3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 2011Natural19 acresJohn Day UnitHALL HILL II
3 August 1997Arson/incendiarismunder an acrePrineville DistrictDIXIE
20 August 2011Arson/incendiarismunder an acreJohn Day UnitFAIMAN SPRING
12 August 2017Natural1.0 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersSUSIE
1 August 1995Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreJohn Day UnitDAD'S CREEK
31 July 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined9.1 acresMalheur National ForestOR-MAF-180
29 July 2011Smokingunder an acreJohn Day UnitHALL HILL
28 July 2003Naturalunder an acreJohn Day UnitDIXIE CREEK

Every fire recorded in Grant County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 25 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 25 workings within 5 miles of Sumpter Valley Railway Passenger Station: 13 past producers, 6 occurrences, 3 producers, 2 prospects. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Gold, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Comini QuarriesGranitePast Producer
Last Chance GroupGold, Zinc, Silver, Nickel, Lead, Copper, CobaltProspect
Unnamed Uranium OccurrenceGold, Uranium, Silver, CopperOccurrence
Unnamed Uranium OccurrenceGold, Copper, Uranium, SilverOccurrence
Uranium OccurrenceSilver, Copper, Uranium, GoldOccurrenceChalcopyrite, Pyrite
Uranium OccurrenceGold, Silver, Copper, UraniumOccurrenceVein
Unnamed PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Comini QuarriesStonePast Producer
QuarryStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Grant County

Storms near this property

10 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Prairie City, the town this property stands in, in 10 storm reports between 1998 and 2025: 3 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
January 2025FloodPrairie City-The Grant County Emergency Manager reported high water over the US Route 26 at milepost 173 between John Day and Prairie City.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindPrairie City-Social media reported huge pine trees uprooted and marble-sized hail.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindPrairie City-Agrimet station reported 66 mph wind gust.
June 2010FloodPrairie City-Spotter reported flooding from Indian Creek along Indian Creek Road and surrounding fields.
August 2006Thunderstorm WindPrairie City-Gusts to 60 mph knocked down several trees in the Prairie City area. Some of the fallen trees knocked down power lines.
September 2003WildfirePrairie City-The Bull Springs 2 Fire was a lightning sparked fire which burned 1,266 acres. The estimated cost of containing the blaze was $1,422,000.
June 1998Flash FloodPrairie City-Flash flooding was reported over Highway 26 in eastern Grant County. An RV park in Prairie City also flooded.
July 2007HailPrairie City-no account filed
July 2007HailPrairie City-no account filed
July 2004HailPrairie City-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Grant County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 81000483 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Grant CountyAll 9 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.